Version 1.6.1 will not run on Windows

HandBrake for Windows support
Forum rules
An Activity Log is required for support requests. Please read How-to get an activity log? for details on how and why this should be provided.
socalmitch

Version 1.6.1 will not run on Windows

Post by socalmitch »

I've been doing fine with Handbrake for a few years now. No issues with updates. Today I updated to 1.6.1 and it would NOT run on my windows 10 machine. Just nothing at all.

My machine is about 2 years old and is far more powerful than I ever need it to be. I can generally convert a 2hr movie in less than 5 minutes. Using the installer for 1.5.1 (a good backwards step to ensure viability) also provided the same result. My only recourse was to do a full uninstall via windows itself, then a re-install of 1.5.1 in order for it to work.

I'm sorry, but I don't have an activity log as this is a totally fresh install.

I can only imagine I'm not the only one having this issue. Any advice or help would be appreciated.
Woodstock
Veteran User

Re: Version 1.6.1 will not run on Windows

Post by Woodstock »

"Just nothing at all" can mean a lot of things in the install process. I've had it when the system decides it doesn't like how the file was copied. And I've had it when the system decides that it thinks a file was POSSIBLY a virus, and hides it.

Are there ANY error messages to help decide what the problem is?
socalmitch

Post by socalmitch »

Sadly, no. There is no message at all. It's as if the program crashes the second it starts. The windows cursor does it's busy thing for about 1 second but that's it. I also tried rebooting and restarting. Each provided the same result.

As said, the only thing that worked was using windows own uninstall window then a fresh install of 1.5.1
s55
HandBrake Team

Post by s55 »

Reinstall .NET **Desktop** Runtime 6 https://dotnet.microsoft.com/en-us/down ... -installer and see if that helps
socalmitch

Post by socalmitch »