Handbrake 1.2.2 tries to launch - "handbrake has stopped working"

HandBrake for Windows support
Forum rules
An Activity Log is required for support requests. Please read How-to get an activity log? for details on how and why this should be provided.
Post Reply
mich
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Aug 13, 2019 12:30 pm

Handbrake 1.2.2 tries to launch - "handbrake has stopped working"

Post by mich » Tue Aug 13, 2019 12:43 pm

Handbrake 1.2.2 tries to launch but never opens.

I have tried to download and install the program seven times, every time, but the most recent I have received a message stating handbrake stopped working. This time, I don't get that message, but the program keeps trying to launch and it shows a white screen.

I cannot upload an activity log, because the program will not open.




Steps to reproduce the problem (If Applicable):




HandBrake version (e.g., 1.0.0):

1.2.2


Operating system and version (e.g., Ubuntu 16.04 LTS, macOS 10.13 High Sierra, Windows 10 Creators Update):

WIndows 7 professional

HandBrake Activity Log ***required*** (see How-to get an activity log)

Code: Select all

Please replace this text with the contents of your log file between the two code tags - OR -  provide a pastebin URL in place of these 3 lines.

mich
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Aug 13, 2019 12:30 pm

Re: Handbrake 1.2.2 tries to launch - "handbrake has stopped working"

Post by mich » Tue Aug 13, 2019 1:02 pm

I cannot provide an activity log, as the program will not launch

Woodstock
Veteran User
Posts: 3288
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2013 6:39 am

Re: Handbrake 1.2.2 tries to launch - "handbrake has stopped working"

Post by Woodstock » Tue Aug 13, 2019 1:09 pm

If the program is crashing, there should be evidence logged in the Windows Event Viewer.


markfilipak
Regular User
Posts: 145
Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2019 8:58 pm

Re: Handbrake 1.2.2 tries to launch - "handbrake has stopped working"

Post by markfilipak » Sat Aug 17, 2019 8:59 pm

mich wrote:
Tue Aug 13, 2019 12:43 pm
Handbrake 1.2.2 tries to launch but never opens. ...
See my post, here: viewtopic.php?f=11&t=39206&p=185527#p185527

jaltomare
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2019 3:17 pm

Re: Handbrake 1.2.2 tries to launch - "handbrake has stopped working"

Post by jaltomare » Mon Oct 21, 2019 3:18 pm

Same problem
An Unknown Error has occurred.
System.Reflection.TargetInvocationException: Exception has been thrown by the target of an invocation. ---> System.TypeInitializationException: The type initializer for 'HandBrake.Interop.Interop.HandBrakeUtils' threw an exception. ---> System.AccessViolationException: Attempted to read or write protected memory. This is often an indication that other memory is corrupt.
at HandBrake.Interop.Interop.HbLib.HBFunctions.hb_global_init()
at HandBrake.Interop.Interop.HandBrakeUtils.TryInit() in D:\Development\HandBrake\handbrake-release\win\CS\HandBrake.Interop\Interop\HandBrakeUtils.cs:line 97
at HandBrake.Interop.Interop.HandBrakeUtils..cctor() in D:\Development\HandBrake\handbrake-release\win\CS\HandBrake.Interop\Interop\HandBrakeUtils.cs:line 68
--- End of inner exception stack trace ---
at HandBrake.Interop.Interop.HandBrakeUtils.add_MessageLogged(EventHandler`1 value)
at HandBrakeWPF.Services.Logging.LogService..ctor() in D:\Development\HandBrake\handbrake-release\win\CS\HandBrakeWPF\Services\Logging\LogService.cs:line 57
at HandBrakeWPF.Services.Logging.LogService.GetLogger() in D:\Development\HandBrake\handbrake-release\win\CS\HandBrakeWPF\Services\Logging\LogService.cs:line 158
at HandBrakeWPF.Services.Scan.LibScan..ctor() in D:\Development\HandBrake\handbrake-release\win\CS\HandBrakeWPF\Services\Scan\LibScan.cs:line 47
--- End of inner exception stack trace ---
at System.RuntimeTypeHandle.CreateInstance(RuntimeType type, Boolean publicOnly, Boolean noCheck, Boolean& canBeCached, RuntimeMethodHandleInternal& ctor, Boolean& bNeedSecurityCheck)
at System.RuntimeType.CreateInstanceSlow(Boolean publicOnly, Boolean skipCheckThis, Boolean fillCache, StackCrawlMark& stackMark)
at System.Activator.CreateInstance(Type type, Boolean nonPublic)
at System.Activator.CreateInstance(Type type)
at Caliburn.Micro.SimpleContainer.ActivateInstance(Type type, Object[] args)
at Caliburn.Micro.SimpleContainer.<>c__DisplayClass7_0.<RegisterSingleton>b__0(SimpleContainer container)
at System.Linq.Enumerable.WhereSelectArrayIterator`2.MoveNext()
at System.Collections.Generic.List`1.InsertRange(Int32 index, IEnumerable`1 collection)
at Caliburn.Micro.SimpleContainer.DetermineConstructorArgs(Type implementation)
at Caliburn.Micro.SimpleContainer.<>c__DisplayClass7_0.<RegisterSingleton>b__0(SimpleContainer container)
at System.Linq.Enumerable.WhereSelectArrayIterator`2.MoveNext()
at System.Collections.Generic.List`1.InsertRange(Int32 index, IEnumerable`1 collection)
at Caliburn.Micro.SimpleContainer.DetermineConstructorArgs(Type implementation)
at Caliburn.Micro.SimpleContainer.<>c__DisplayClass7_0.<RegisterSingleton>b__0(SimpleContainer container)
at HandBrakeWPF.Startup.AppBootstrapper.GetInstance(Type service, String key) in D:\Development\HandBrake\handbrake-release\win\CS\HandBrakeWPF\Startup\AppBootstrapper.cs:line 130
at Caliburn.Micro.BootstrapperBase.DisplayRootViewFor(Type viewModelType, IDictionary`2 settings)
at HandBrakeWPF.Startup.AppBootstrapper.OnStartup(Object sender, StartupEventArgs e) in D:\Development\HandBrake\handbrake-release\win\CS\HandBrakeWPF\Startup\AppBootstrapper.cs:line 113
at System.Windows.Application.OnStartup(StartupEventArgs e)
at HandBrakeWPF.App.OnStartup(StartupEventArgs e) in D:\Development\HandBrake\handbrake-release\win\CS\HandBrakeWPF\App.xaml.cs:line 121
at System.Windows.Application.<.ctor>b__1_0(Object unused)
at System.Windows.Threading.ExceptionWrapper.InternalRealCall(Delegate callback, Object args, Int32 numArgs)
at System.Windows.Threading.ExceptionWrapper.TryCatchWhen(Object source, Delegate callback, Object args, Int32 numArgs, Delegate catchHandler)

Post Reply