PS4 Pro 4K preset?

Discuss encoding for devices and presets.
Forum rules
An Activity Log is required for support requests. Please read How-to get an activity log? for details on how and why this should be provided.
Post Reply
eminguez
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun May 12, 2019 7:37 am

PS4 Pro 4K preset?

Post by eminguez » Sun May 12, 2019 8:14 am

Description of problem or question:
PS4 Pro media player supports 4K presets, but I've not able to find the proper settings.

Steps to reproduce the problem (If Applicable):
Try to have a proper 4k encoded video playable in the PS4

HandBrake version (e.g., 1.0.0):
1.2.2

Operating system and version (e.g., Ubuntu 16.04 LTS, macOS 10.13 High Sierra, Windows 10 Creators Update):
Fedora 29 x86_64

HandBrake Activity Log ***required*** (see How-to get an activity log)
Not needed

More data
I've tried to encode a video using this preset, but it didn't worked :(

https://gist.github.com/e-minguez/94ce6 ... 1d862c1b5c

Any ideas?

Thanks!

rollin_eng
Veteran User
Posts: 3098
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 11:06 pm

Re: PS4 Pro 4K preset?

Post by rollin_eng » Sun May 12, 2019 11:06 am

Could you please post your HB logs, instructions can be found here:

https://handbrake.fr/docs/en/latest/hel ... y-log.html

eminguez
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun May 12, 2019 7:37 am

Re: PS4 Pro 4K preset?

Post by eminguez » Sun May 12, 2019 12:45 pm

I believe the handbrake logs are not useful (instead, the PS4 player will be, but there is no way to see any message), the key will be finding the appropriate handbrake settings for the PS4 Pro player :)
I'm trying to use MP4 instead MKV https://gist.github.com/e-minguez/cdda5 ... 520391f8f4 but it takes ~24 to reenconde the video with my current hardware :D

rollin_eng
Veteran User
Posts: 3098
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 11:06 pm

Re: PS4 Pro 4K preset?

Post by rollin_eng » Sun May 12, 2019 12:59 pm

If you post your logs we will know what you are doing.

Woodstock
Veteran User
Posts: 3116
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2013 6:39 am

Re: PS4 Pro 4K preset?

Post by Woodstock » Sun May 12, 2019 3:41 pm

It is not necessary to encode the whole file, just enough to demonstrate the issue. A single chapter, or an arbitrary from/to segment is fine, because the settings and handbrake's analysis of the file will be logged.

And the chance that logs "are not useful" is pretty low - they tell us far more about the file, your settings, and the encode itself, than you might be able to describe in as few words.

eminguez
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun May 12, 2019 7:37 am

Re: PS4 Pro 4K preset?

Post by eminguez » Mon May 13, 2019 6:10 pm

After ~24h of encoding using this preset https://gist.github.com/e-minguez/cdda5 ... 520391f8f4 I've been able to reproduce a 4K video in my PS4 Pro \o/
I've created a PR to include the preset in future versions of handbrake here https://github.com/HandBrake/HandBrake/pull/2099
HTH!

Post Reply