HB error when using QSV (Error Code -17)

HandBrake for Windows support
Forum rules
An Activity Log is required for support requests. Please read How-to get an activity log? for details on how and why this should be provided.
Post Reply
tjsuominen
Posts: 64
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2013 9:29 pm

HB error when using QSV (Error Code -17)

Post by tjsuominen » Mon Nov 05, 2018 7:48 am

Description of problem or question:
A MKV video I attempt to encode using H.264 (Intel QSV) fails with an Error code -17, hb_qsv_wait_on_sync 602. Encoded three files, this happened only to one of the (two successful ones with QSV).

Steps to reproduce the problem (If Applicable):
While encoding the file, HB encode stops (time is running, but no progress).


HandBrake version (e.g., 1.0.0):
HandBrake 1.1.2 (2018090500) - 64bit


Operating system and version (e.g., Ubuntu 16.04 LTS, macOS 10.13 High Sierra, Windows 10 Creators Update):
Windows 10 (1803)


HandBrake Activity Log ***required*** (see How-to get an activity log)

Code: Select all

https://pastebin.com/gUf90W4e
Other
I do realize this has been discussed earlier (ref. https://github.com/HandBrake/HandBrake/issues/660, yet I'm just wondering is my HW / Intel HD Graphics drivers "outdated"? Those (check the log) are the latest available for my configuration.

User avatar
s55
HandBrake Team
Posts: 9218
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2006 1:05 pm

Re: HB error when using QSV (Error Code -17)

Post by s55 » Mon Nov 05, 2018 8:12 am

At some point in the near future, we are looking at adding an option to force QuickSync to use DirectX9 rather than 11 to improve another situation where there is issues. I don't think it'll resolve this but it may make it less likely to occur.

Unfortunately, given these parts are discontinued by Intel, we are limited in options

tjsuominen
Posts: 64
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2013 9:29 pm

Re: HB error when using QSV (Error Code -17)

Post by tjsuominen » Mon Nov 05, 2018 8:43 am

OK, thx a lot for response. This happened to me now for the 1st time and if it's very random, yeah, I can just use another encoding method in such case. Yet interested in evaluating the DirectX9 option when available.

Appreciated.

//Timo

Post Reply