Encoding shifts video 2 frames back

HandBrake for Windows support
Forum rules
An Activity Log is required for support requests. Please read How-to get an activity log? for details on how and why this should be provided.
veresk
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2018 8:12 pm

Re: Encoding shifts video 2 frames back

Post by veresk » Mon Sep 10, 2018 5:31 pm

The output files I was creating were all actually NOT for intermediate use. I needed HandBrake for creating end files for UPLOAD and for limited sharing. But mainly - for uploading to Vimeo (I wonder why there are no Youtube/Vimeo/Insta presents, while Adobe ME has them ALL covered in great numbers). Youtube's and Vimeo's upload suggestions hinted that they don't have any limitation about higher bitrate, so we can upload as high quality as possible.

Meanwhile I've googled about bframes (a new subject for me) and found pretty much what BradleyS wrote above (mainly CPU resources and if unsure - turn it off). So, since I'm a one-man-band and need maximum focus on a creative side of my projects, I just need to stay with a universal and safe encoding setting. Looks like it's bframes=0, Placebo :D Auto profiles, constant Q ~"18" depending on video length (resulting reasonable file size) and AAC (avcodec).

mduell
Veteran User
Posts: 6069
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 8:54 pm

Re: Encoding shifts video 2 frames back

Post by mduell » Mon Sep 10, 2018 6:45 pm

veresk wrote:
Mon Sep 10, 2018 5:31 pm
The output files I was creating were all actually NOT for intermediate use. I needed HandBrake for creating end files for UPLOAD and for limited sharing. But mainly - for uploading to Vimeo (I wonder why there are no Youtube/Vimeo/Insta presents, while Adobe ME has them ALL covered in great numbers). Youtube's and Vimeo's upload suggestions hinted that they don't have any limitation about higher bitrate, so we can upload as high quality as possible.
There are, documented and included in the latest release.

User avatar
BradleyS
Moderator
Posts: 1321
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2007 12:16 pm

Re: Encoding shifts video 2 frames back

Post by BradleyS » Mon Sep 10, 2018 10:54 pm

You should be seeing Vimeo YouTube presets under the Web category.

veresk
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2018 8:12 pm

Re: Encoding shifts video 2 frames back

Post by veresk » Tue Sep 11, 2018 11:13 pm

BradleyS wrote:
Mon Sep 10, 2018 10:54 pm
You should be seeing Vimeo YouTube presets under the Web category.
Under the WEB category I only see 3 Gmail presets.
(even after 1.1.2 update)

User avatar
BradleyS
Moderator
Posts: 1321
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2007 12:16 pm

Re: Encoding shifts video 2 frames back

Post by BradleyS » Tue Sep 11, 2018 11:21 pm

Under the main HandBrake menu (File, Edit, etc.) go to Presets > Reset Official Presets. It might be named slightly differently depending on the operating system.

veresk
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2018 8:12 pm

Re: Encoding shifts video 2 frames back

Post by veresk » Tue Sep 11, 2018 11:35 pm

BradleyS wrote:
Tue Sep 11, 2018 11:21 pm
Under the main HandBrake menu (File, Edit, etc.) go to Presets > Reset Official Presets. It might be named slightly differently depending on the operating system.
Resetting helped! Thanx!

User avatar
BradleyS
Moderator
Posts: 1321
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2007 12:16 pm

Re: Encoding shifts video 2 frames back

Post by BradleyS » Tue Sep 11, 2018 11:36 pm

:)

Post Reply