Connect to Server function not working

Support for HandBrake on Linux, Solaris, and other Unix-like platforms
Forum rules
An Activity Log is required for support requests. Please read How-to get an activity log? for details on how and why this should be provided.
Post Reply
tuathanach
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2018 9:49 am

Connect to Server function not working

Post by tuathanach » Sun Aug 05, 2018 10:02 am

Description of problem or question:
Can not get 'Connect to Server' function to work

Steps to reproduce the problem (If Applicable):
1). Click 'Open Source'
2). Click 'Other Locations' on lower left of dialog
3). Enter server address. Have tried x.x.x.x, smb://x.x.x.x, nfs://x.x.x.x (x is placeholder for actual server address)
4). Under no circumstance can I get the 'Connect' button to highlight

HandBrake version (e.g., 1.0.0):
1.1.1

Operating system and version (e.g., Ubuntu 16.04 LTS, macOS 10.13 High Sierra, Windows 10 Creators Update):
Kubuntu 18.0.4

HandBrake Activity Log ***required*** (see How-to get an activity log)

Code: Select all

Sorry, not possible with this question

mduell
Veteran User
Posts: 6012
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 8:54 pm

Re: Connect to Server function not working

Post by mduell » Sun Aug 05, 2018 6:23 pm

An Activity Log is required for support requests. Please read How-to get an activity log? for details on how and why this should be provided.

tuathanach
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2018 9:49 am

Re: Connect to Server function not working

Post by tuathanach » Sun Aug 05, 2018 7:34 pm

Actions required to produce error are PRIOR to an Activity Log being generated

mduell
Veteran User
Posts: 6012
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 8:54 pm

Re: Connect to Server function not working

Post by mduell » Sun Aug 05, 2018 7:48 pm

wrong.gif

User avatar
s55
HandBrake Team
Posts: 9148
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2006 1:05 pm

Re: Connect to Server function not working

Post by s55 » Sun Aug 05, 2018 8:00 pm

If you haven't even scanned a source, there is no log ...

I'd need to check with john, but it could be that this functionality which is part of the standard dialog is simply disabled in HandBrake.

User avatar
s55
HandBrake Team
Posts: 9148
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2006 1:05 pm

Re: Connect to Server function not working

Post by s55 » Sun Aug 05, 2018 8:00 pm

If you haven't even scanned a source, there is no log ...

I'd need to check with john, but it could be that this functionality which is part of the standard dialog is simply disabled in HandBrake.

mduell
Veteran User
Posts: 6012
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 8:54 pm

Re: Connect to Server function not working

Post by mduell » Sun Aug 05, 2018 8:07 pm

s55 wrote:
Sun Aug 05, 2018 8:00 pm
If you haven't even scanned a source, there is no log ...
There should be a log with platform and build info?

User avatar
s55
HandBrake Team
Posts: 9148
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2006 1:05 pm

Re: Connect to Server function not working

Post by s55 » Sun Aug 05, 2018 8:10 pm

IIRC, neither mac or Linux do this.

Edit: I stand corrected. Both do. Must be my bad memory.

"[21:11:49] gtkgui: HandBrake 20180613220725-f1714ec-master (2018061401) - Linux x86_64 - https://handbrake.fr"

@tuathanach -> This is actually useful. Reason being is there are numerous malicious copies of HandBrake floating around on Linux with broken / removed features. Most of these broken versions are in the official repo's sadly.

mduell
Veteran User
Posts: 6012
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 8:54 pm

Re: Connect to Server function not working

Post by mduell » Sun Aug 05, 2018 8:42 pm

8)

User avatar
JohnAStebbins
HandBrake Team
Posts: 5129
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 7:21 pm

Re: Connect to Server function not working

Post by JohnAStebbins » Mon Aug 06, 2018 5:21 pm

"Other Locations" is a feature of the GTK file open dialog and gnome vfs. HandBrake does nothing special to make this work (or not work as the case seems to be). I just tested this by opening a file that is hosted on my Nextcloud server and reading it across the internet (davs://). To my surprise, it actually worked (I never tried that before). So with a properly configured server and workstation, it does work. I also tested with "ssh://" to verify another type. For whatever reason nfs:// leaves the "Connect" button greyed out. Maybe I'm missing some gnome vfs plugin for that. I don't have any samba shares handy to test.

User avatar
JohnAStebbins
HandBrake Team
Posts: 5129
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 7:21 pm

Re: Connect to Server function not working

Post by JohnAStebbins » Mon Aug 06, 2018 5:30 pm

Just verified, to make nfs:// enable the "Connect" button, I had to install gvfs-nfs. You are probably missing this and other gvfs plugins necessary for mounting remote file systems.

Post Reply