Setting SRT language

General questions or discussion about HandBrake, Video and/or audio transcoding, trends etc.
Post Reply
carrie
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2018 6:33 pm

Setting SRT language

Post by carrie » Mon Jun 11, 2018 6:40 pm

I am adding various language SRT files to a video. I don't see a German choice in the language drop-down list. I have selected "ANY" instead and it works perfectly but I was wondering why there is no German choice. My video has 8 different languages and I was able to list all of them (including Urdu!) except for German. Please let me know if I have just somehow overlooked this option in the drop-down. Thanks, Carrie

User avatar
JohnAStebbins
HandBrake Team
Posts: 5128
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 7:21 pm

Re: Setting SRT language

Post by JohnAStebbins » Mon Jun 11, 2018 7:15 pm

"Deutsch"

It's sorted by *English* spelling, but displayed as *native* spelling. So you'll find Deutsch in the G's. It's really terrible, but I'm not sure how else to sort the list. Since native spellings are in various character sets, it's not really possible to sort by native name.

carrie
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2018 6:33 pm

Re: Setting SRT language

Post by carrie » Mon Jun 11, 2018 7:42 pm

Thanks John! I kinda wondered about that but I wanted confirmation to be sure. I've selected that now and my video has encoded perfectly, subtitles and all!

Post Reply