Encoding HDR

General questions or discussion about HandBrake, Video and/or audio transcoding, trends etc.
Post Reply
db1964
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2015 11:05 am

Encoding HDR

Post by db1964 » Fri Jun 01, 2018 12:33 pm

Alright this may be a dumb question but , I going to take a risk and ask it anyway.

It's impossible to read a review of 4K TV's these days without also reading about HDR and all the different flavour variants thereof ( HDR10, 10+, HLG etc ). If I were to encode a 4K Bluray which included these details ( is that the right way of putting it ? ) would they be included in the mkv file ??

User avatar
Rodeo
HandBrake Team
Posts: 12043
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 8:55 pm

Re: Encoding HDR

Post by Rodeo » Fri Jun 01, 2018 1:00 pm

No, HandBrake doesn't do HDR at this point, sorry.

WIHanddoc
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2017 7:30 pm

Re: Encoding HDR

Post by WIHanddoc » Sat Jun 02, 2018 8:15 am

Is Handbrake handling of greater than 8 bits on the horizon or a long way off? Now that ripping of 4K Blu-ray discs is possible, it will become a much more requested feature!

User avatar
Rodeo
HandBrake Team
Posts: 12043
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 8:55 pm

Re: Encoding HDR

Post by Rodeo » Sat Jun 02, 2018 11:35 am

It's at least some way off, I'd say. No idea how long though, if I'm being honest.

TechnoPhil
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2011 9:21 am

Re: Encoding HDR

Post by TechnoPhil » Tue Jun 05, 2018 7:31 pm

Rodeo wrote:
Fri Jun 01, 2018 1:00 pm
No, HandBrake doesn't do HDR at this point, sorry.
Hello there, just for clarifying the situation!
I am trying to compress (in mp4 or mkv container) a 4K video with HDR10 h.265 profile standard.

Is HandBrake able to do that?
I tested the simple h.265 profile with INFUSE software on iOS and it is not able to play it.
VLC on PC or Mac has no issue.
Will I have to use "h.265 10bit" video settings in order to maintain the HDR10 profile?

Thanks! 8)

User avatar
s55
HandBrake Team
Posts: 9376
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2006 1:05 pm

Re: Encoding HDR

Post by s55 » Tue Jun 05, 2018 7:45 pm

You can't maintain HDR with HandBrake.

TechnoPhil
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2011 9:21 am

Re: Encoding HDR

Post by TechnoPhil » Tue Jun 05, 2018 8:10 pm

s55 wrote:
Tue Jun 05, 2018 7:45 pm
You can't maintain HDR with HandBrake.
Understand! Is there a technical reason?
Will HB support this profile in your opinion?

Thanks!

mduell
Veteran User
Posts: 6396
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 8:54 pm

Re: Encoding HDR

Post by mduell » Tue Jun 05, 2018 8:40 pm

Yes, no one has done the work to support it.

User avatar
Rodeo
HandBrake Team
Posts: 12043
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 8:55 pm

Re: Encoding HDR

Post by Rodeo » Tue Jun 05, 2018 8:47 pm

Yes, many of our filters don't support working on HDR, so everything is converted to standard dynamic range 8-bit 4:2:0 internally -- there is no way to recover the lost information then.

TechnoPhil
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2011 9:21 am

Re: Encoding HDR

Post by TechnoPhil » Thu Jun 07, 2018 6:37 pm

Ok,
I finished my test!
I bought an original blue-ray 4k HDR. I transcoded it with h.265 10bit profile 16k mbps.
Original mkv was 52GB and after HandBrake it's 11GB mp4.

The result is great, fully compatible with INFUSE & PLEX apps & VLC (Win10, Mac, Ubuntu, iOS, tvOS & Android).
Also macOS quick time can play it!

Really hope that HDR will be supported soon! :wink:

TechnoPhil
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2011 9:21 am

Re: Encoding HDR

Post by TechnoPhil » Sat Dec 01, 2018 7:13 am

Hello there,
anyone knows if now possible to transcode mkv to mp4 keeping HDR feature?

Thanks, Filippo :wink:

User avatar
s55
HandBrake Team
Posts: 9376
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2006 1:05 pm

Re: Encoding HDR

Post by s55 » Sat Dec 01, 2018 10:34 am

You might find the answer in this thread already.

TechnoPhil
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2011 9:21 am

Re: Encoding HDR

Post by TechnoPhil » Sun Dec 02, 2018 7:17 am

I can find the answer, but 6 months old!
So is there any updates?! This is what I mean!

mduell
Veteran User
Posts: 6396
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 8:54 pm

Re: Encoding HDR

Post by mduell » Sun Dec 02, 2018 7:51 pm

No.

TechnoPhil
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2011 9:21 am

Re: Encoding HDR

Post by TechnoPhil » Tue Jan 01, 2019 3:43 pm

Hello there,
Happy New Year first of all! :wink:
I tested on a MacBook Pro 15 - 2018 (8gen CPU) an encoding of MKV 4K HDR10 using h265 10-bit.
This is the result:

https://i.postimg.cc/CKtByZZL/01.png

https://i.postimg.cc/HLjcP0kh/02.png

This is the last version of HandBrake!
So finally HDR support has been added in this update?! 8)

User avatar
s55
HandBrake Team
Posts: 9376
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2006 1:05 pm

Re: Encoding HDR

Post by s55 » Tue Jan 01, 2019 3:55 pm

Nope, there is no HDR support. HandBrake is still an 8bit pipeline. There are small improvements encoding to 10bit, but with the down-conversion, there are still significant losses.

TechnoPhil
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2011 9:21 am

Re: Encoding HDR

Post by TechnoPhil » Tue Jan 01, 2019 5:24 pm

I also tried with my MacBook Pro 2017 (7 gen CPU) & I have the same good situation!
I can understand what you mean, but also PLEX server reports that the files are correctly in HDR10 profile.
How could it possible?! :shock:

rollin_eng
Veteran User
Posts: 3023
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 11:06 pm

Re: Encoding HDR

Post by rollin_eng » Tue Jan 01, 2019 5:36 pm

Your source will be converted to 8 bit for the processing.

It can then be encoded in 10 bit, however you have already lost your 10 bit source.

Gedeon
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2019 8:08 am

Re: Encoding HDR

Post by Gedeon » Fri Jan 11, 2019 11:36 am

Sorry, just to understand ...

ATM for x265 10bit sources are dropped to 8bit and finally dithered to 10bits ?

Is there anyway/codec/library to "preserve" HDR info using HandBrake ?

Thanks !

User avatar
BradleyS
Moderator
Posts: 1514
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2007 12:16 pm

Re: Encoding HDR

Post by BradleyS » Fri Jan 11, 2019 8:23 pm

10->8 bits, yes. HandBrake provides 8-bit data to the chosen encoder. 8-, 10-, and 12-bit encoders are selectable.

HDR support is in planning stages and is not currently implemented.

Post Reply