Progress printed on different lines

Archive of historical development discussions
Discussions / Development has moved to GitHub
Post Reply
DougH
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2016 12:52 am

Progress printed on different lines

Post by DougH » Wed Jun 14, 2017 3:14 pm

I'verecently upgraded to version 20170613212211-16cc030-master from version 20170102135948-3155365-master.

My operating system is Windows 7.

Now when I run a encoding job the progress is displayed as follows:

Code: Select all

Encoding: task 1 of 2, 0.05 % (0.00 fps, avg 0.00 fps, ETA 00h03m43s)
Encoding: task 1 of 2, 0.10 % (0.00 fps, avg 0.00 fps, ETA 00h05m13s)
Encoding: task 1 of 2, 0.24 % (0.00 fps, avg 0.00 fps, ETA 00h03m37s)
Encoding: task 1 of 2, 0.37 % (0.00 fps, avg 0.00 fps, ETA 00h03m12s)
Encoding: task 1 of 2, 0.52 % (0.00 fps, avg 0.00 fps, ETA 00h02m57s)
Encoding: task 1 of 2, 0.68 % (0.00 fps, avg 0.00 fps, ETA 00h02m43s)
Encoding: task 1 of 2, 0.81 % (0.00 fps, avg 0.00 fps, ETA 00h02m41s)
Encoding: task 1 of 2, 0.92 % (0.00 fps, avg 0.00 fps, ETA 00h02m44s)
Encoding: task 1 of 2, 1.05 % (0.00 fps, avg 0.00 fps, ETA 00h02m43s)
Encoding: task 1 of 2, 1.17 % (0.00 fps, avg 0.00 fps, ETA 00h02m43s)
Encoding: task 1 of 2, 1.24 % (0.00 fps, avg 0.00 fps, ETA 00h02m50s)
Encoding: task 1 of 2, 1.29 % (0.00 fps, avg 0.00 fps, ETA 00h02m58s)
In my previous version the progress was only shown on asingle line. Which file do I need to chagne on my system so I can revert back to the old style of progress using the smae line rather then a new line ever time?

mduell
Veteran User
Posts: 6023
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 8:54 pm

Re: Progress printed on different lines

Post by mduell » Wed Jun 14, 2017 3:36 pm

How are you running it?

DougH
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2016 12:52 am

Re: Progress printed on different lines

Post by DougH » Wed Jun 14, 2017 4:19 pm

The command I'm using is:

Code: Select all

handbrakecli -i ftest.mkv -o ftest.mp4 --preset-import-file H265Stereo.json 2> ftest.log
The encoding itself works fine. It's just the pgoress updating with a new line ever time I find annoying.

User avatar
BradleyS
Moderator
Posts: 1298
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2007 12:16 pm

Re: Progress printed on different lines

Post by BradleyS » Thu Jun 15, 2017 3:21 am

We recently made a change to how piped output is created, but it shouldn't affect usage in a terminal window. Are you only seeing this in a piped .log file, or in the terminal itself?

DougH
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2016 12:52 am

Re: Progress printed on different lines

Post by DougH » Thu Jun 15, 2017 12:11 pm

I just tried the same command but left off the 2> ftest.log and received the same result. This behavior only happens on Windows. I built the same nightly for Linux and I got the expected behavior of the progress indication using the same line.

User avatar
BradleyS
Moderator
Posts: 1298
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2007 12:16 pm

Re: Progress printed on different lines

Post by BradleyS » Thu Jun 15, 2017 6:51 pm

Okay, thanks for checking that.

This is the commit I'm concerned about: https://github.com/HandBrake/HandBrake/ ... 7177f54a24

Is there any chance you can build the commit before that on master branch and see if that solves the problem? If so, I'll need to investigate why isatty() isn't working on Windows.

DougH
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2016 12:52 am

Re: Progress printed on different lines

Post by DougH » Thu Jun 15, 2017 9:01 pm

Yes, I'll do a build this evening and let you know what happens.

DougH
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2016 12:52 am

Re: Progress printed on different lines

Post by DougH » Thu Jun 15, 2017 10:58 pm

I've just built Handbrake from this commit (which is the parent of the one mentioned above).

https://github.com/HandBrake/HandBrake/ ... cb90106f20

The behavior of the progress indicator is back using a single line both with and without pipe redirection.

User avatar
BradleyS
Moderator
Posts: 1298
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2007 12:16 pm

Re: Progress printed on different lines

Post by BradleyS » Thu Jun 15, 2017 11:02 pm

Thanks for double checking that for me. I'll try to reproduce (and hopefully resolve) the issue over the weekend.

User avatar
BradleyS
Moderator
Posts: 1298
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2007 12:16 pm

Re: Progress printed on different lines

Post by BradleyS » Sat Jun 17, 2017 7:41 pm


User avatar
BradleyS
Moderator
Posts: 1298
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2007 12:16 pm

Re: Progress printed on different lines

Post by BradleyS » Sat Jun 17, 2017 7:43 pm


DougH
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2016 12:52 am

Re: Progress printed on different lines

Post by DougH » Sun Jun 18, 2017 1:32 am

I will compile it as soon as the bad weather passes by. Thank you for looking into this.

Post Reply