Encoding question

HandBrake for Windows support
Forum rules
An Activity Log is required for support requests. Please read How-to get an activity log? for details on how and why this should be provided.
Post Reply
oRBIT2002
Posts: 74
Joined: Sun Nov 01, 2009 11:22 am

Encoding question

Post by oRBIT2002 » Thu Apr 28, 2016 9:52 am

Assume I have an .mov file captured with my iPhone. It's framerate is something like 59.0XXXX (they differ a bit from file to file).
What happens if I recode it with Handbrake (with h.265 for example) to 60fps (constant), but decides to "copy AAC audio" instead of recoding it.
Is there a chance of getting audio sync problems when doing this? Is it safer to recode the audio aswell?

daanbrg
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2015 12:14 pm

Re: Encoding question

Post by daanbrg » Thu Apr 28, 2016 1:09 pm

I'm fairly sure HandBrake should compensate for that. When in doubt, there are three things you could do, in order of security:
  1. Transcode to VBR, this should be supported by most players
  2. As you suggested: recoding the audio, losing some detail in a lossy codec
  3. Experiment ;-)
Yeah, I know, I'm of no use here. :lol:

rollin_eng
Veteran User
Posts: 3146
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 11:06 pm

Re: Encoding question

Post by rollin_eng » Thu Apr 28, 2016 2:16 pm

The duration of your video should not change, therefore your audio should be ok.

Post Reply