new bug or how it always worked? 'same as source' framerate.

Archive of historical bug reports.
Please use the GitHub link above to report issues.
Forum rules
*******************************
Please be aware we are now using GitHub for issue tracking and feature requests.
- This section of the forum is now closed to new topics.

*******************************
Post Reply
Conner
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2007 12:58 am

new bug or how it always worked? 'same as source' framerate.

Post by Conner » Fri Jan 12, 2007 8:10 pm

I was just compressing some interlaced source (Robert Plant Sound Stage DVD) and had selected 'same as source' for framerate. When watching the compressed file (using 2 pass 1250bitrate H.264 baseline iPod, the Jan 1 UB 7.1a4 build) I notied the ending credits were jumpy. So I recompressed it choosing framerate of 29.97. The resulting file didn't have duplicate frames, so the source must have been 29.97 as well.

Is this a known longstanding issue with HandBrake, or is this something new?

Thanks

rhester
Veteran User
Posts: 2888
Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 10:24 pm

Post by rhester » Fri Jan 12, 2007 8:39 pm

Known issue. I'm working on writing something up on it, but in short, it isn't a HandBrake problem...it's a DVD mastering problem, or more correctly, an issue with the way the DVD IFO definition was created.

Rodney

Conner
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2007 12:58 am

Post by Conner » Fri Jan 12, 2007 8:44 pm

rhester wrote:Known issue. I'm working on writing something up on it, but in short, it isn't a HandBrake problem...it's a DVD mastering problem, or more correctly, an issue with the way the DVD IFO definition was created.

Rodney
gotcha, well, it's not too hard to check it to make sure.... interlaced source is *usually* 30fps, so that should have been a tip for me (:

prigaux
Regular User
Posts: 94
Joined: Mon Jan 01, 2007 3:25 pm

Post by prigaux » Mon Jan 15, 2007 3:26 pm

Do not forget PAL DVDs...

Philippe

broaddd
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2007 3:34 am

Post by broaddd » Thu Mar 15, 2007 9:20 pm

So, if I get some jerky pans in movies where ffmpegx reports the original VIDEO_TS as 29fps, I should set Handbrake's fps to 29 too? My first attempt using 'same as source' produced a 23.9fps avi, and I noticed one pan in particular was pretty jerky.

How about where ffmpegx reports the original as '23.9 w/3:2'? What Handbrake fps setting should I use?

Thanks,
B

loyalty_anchored
Bright Spark User
Posts: 183
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2007 1:49 pm

Post by loyalty_anchored » Thu Mar 15, 2007 9:34 pm

why does handbreak use the IFO information to decide on the FPS? is it possible to have it "test" or look at the actual video?

this way it would not fall to the knees of bad dvd authoring.

Post Reply