Does it matter if the AC3 or DPLII track comes first?

General questions or discussion about HandBrake, Video and/or audio transcoding, trends etc.
Post Reply
L255J
Regular User
Posts: 63
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2008 10:25 pm

Does it matter if the AC3 or DPLII track comes first?

Post by L255J »

Can someone explain what happens if one track is put in front of the other? Does the first track become the default? Does it even matter?
rhester
Veteran User
Posts: 2888
Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 10:24 pm

Re: Does it matter if the AC3 or DPLII track comes first?

Post by rhester »

AAC first is recommended, particularly for devices that only support one audio track (and don't grok AC3).

Rodney
L255J
Regular User
Posts: 63
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2008 10:25 pm

Re: Does it matter if the AC3 or DPLII track comes first?

Post by L255J »

Thank you!
musicvid
Veteran User
Posts: 3765
Joined: Sat Jun 27, 2009 1:19 am

Re: Does it matter if the AC3 or DPLII track comes first?

Post by musicvid »

YMMV.
I put the 384Kbs AC-3 (passthrough) track first, and the 160Kbs AAC track second.
VLC plays the AC-3, but my Vegas editor (which doesn't understand AC-3 with MP4) still finds and opens the AAC.
Post Reply