Add scrollbars for small windows

Archive of historical feature requests.
Please use the GitHub link above to report issues.
Forum rules
*******************************
Please be aware we are now using GitHub for issue tracking and feature requests.
- This section of the forum is now closed to new topics.

*******************************
Locked
whittaker007
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Sep 26, 2009 11:04 pm

Add scrollbars for small windows

Post by whittaker007 » Sat Sep 26, 2009 11:08 pm

Please please please add scrollbars if Handbrake is running in a window under 1024x768 instead of refusing to run. Surely that would be so simple to do and save those of us with media centre PCs and netbooks from going crazy!

Thanks,

Scott

TedJ
Veteran User
Posts: 5388
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2008 11:25 pm

Re: Add scrollbars for small windows

Post by TedJ » Sun Sep 27, 2009 5:14 am

I don't know anyone who would even attempt to encode video on a netbook...

whittaker007
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Sep 26, 2009 11:04 pm

Re: Add scrollbars for small windows

Post by whittaker007 » Wed Oct 07, 2009 12:44 am

I can. But I'm not. I'm running a reasonably well specced HTPC with the video output resolution set to match my TV so I get the best quality output I can. Which is great, except I can't run HandBrake on it without changing my resolution, running Handbrake, then changing the resolution back afterwards. It's really annoying.

Seriously, how hard is it to add scrollbars? My guess is about 3 lines of code.

whittaker007
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Sep 26, 2009 11:04 pm

Re: Add scrollbars for small windows

Post by whittaker007 » Wed Oct 07, 2009 12:55 am

Failing that does anybody know if you can run it inside a VNC session on Windows with the VNC screen resolution higher than the actual monitor resolution? Or run it inside some other container that is capable of adding scrollbars and tricking HB into running?

Or how about turning off the preset side panel by default - that takes up at least 100 pixels of width and is not needed to be present all the time?

Or how about making a stripped down mini gui used to browse Titles and Chapters and simply add them to the queue with a preset, then starting the queue batch? That way once you've made your presets you don't need to tweak all the config options?

Of course by far the easiest solution for everyone is just to add scrollbars. Please add scrollbars. :(

User avatar
s55
HandBrake Team
Posts: 9589
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2006 1:05 pm

Re: Add scrollbars for small windows

Post by s55 » Wed Oct 07, 2009 8:45 am

HandBrake will not support low resolution systems.

whittaker007
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Sep 26, 2009 11:04 pm

Re: Add scrollbars for small windows

Post by whittaker007 » Fri Oct 16, 2009 1:41 am

Lame :cry:

ccjensen
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue Jun 03, 2008 11:09 am

Re: Add scrollbars for small windows

Post by ccjensen » Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:02 am

by far the easiest solution, because it is an option that exists right NOW, is to use the CLI tool if you need to remotely start a handbrake encoding :)

HaddenIV
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2009 1:59 pm

Re: Add scrollbars for small windows

Post by HaddenIV » Thu Dec 17, 2009 5:09 am

TedJ wrote:I don't know anyone who would even attempt to encode video on a netbook...

Lol I was encoding on a netbook yesterday and once I read up and figure out where I was going wrong I will continue to encode on a netbook today.
whittaker007 wrote:Seriously, how hard is it to add scrollbars? My guess is about 3 lines of code.
Actually it already supports scroll bars, most programs under windows do by default. What they actually need to do would be to change the popup message so that it doesnt kill the program if the screen resolution isnt high enough and just warn people about their screen resolution. Then if someones screen resolution isnt high enough then once they maxamize the program it gets scroll bars automatically. They would be removing a few lines of code not adding any...

BTW, hooking up my ultra portable to a real monitor for 30 seconds while I loaded the program worked to bypass that obnoxious piece of code and using it with scroll bars really wasnt bad. I say leave it on the user if they want to deal with scroll bars or not, let them know that their resolution is below the minium recomended resolution but dont make screen resolution a requirement for a GUI

nightstrm
Veteran User
Posts: 1887
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2007 5:43 am

Re: Add scrollbars for small windows

Post by nightstrm » Thu Dec 17, 2009 1:51 pm

Encoding videos on a netbook makes baby Jesus cry. :(

HaddenIV
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2009 1:59 pm

Re: Add scrollbars for small windows

Post by HaddenIV » Sat Dec 19, 2009 6:33 am

encoding on a notebook may make baby Jesus cry, but carrying a desktop around the world is no better, its impractical for some to own a desktop at all. We choose the inconvenience that is less inconvenient and go with that. That being said why not remove the block on lower resolutions and let people scroll around to find the options that they want

Locked