How may I build HandBrake for linux with fdk-aac, please?

Support for HandBrake on Linux, Solaris, and other Unix-like platforms
Forum rules
An Activity Log is required for support requests. Please read How-to get an activity log? for details on how and why this should be provided.
Post Reply
Boris911
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Apr 23, 2022 10:59 am

How may I build HandBrake for linux with fdk-aac, please?

Post by Boris911 »

Description of problem or question:
I would like to have handbrake with fdk-aac encoder for Ubuntu linux. But what I search, everywhere are only guides for Windows version (cli exe or DLL for GUI).

My idea is run Handbrake GUI on Ubuntu 22.04 LTS on VPS (via SSH tunel for VNC or xRDP). Problem is that on flatpack is, of course, Handbrake without fdk-aac encoder.

How could I build Handbrake version with fdk-aac encoder for Ubuntu 22.04 linux, please? I read that fdk-aac encoder is much more better then "standard" aac encored which is in handbrake/ffmpeg. :? Well, it will by too pitty when it will not be possible to use it on linux, like on Windows. :(



HandBrake version (e.g., 1.0.0):
1.5.1



Operating system and version (e.g., Ubuntu 16.04 LTS, macOS 10.13 High Sierra, Windows 10 Creators Update):
Ubuntu 22.04 LTS



I thank you very much in advanced for your help.
With Best Regards,
Jan
Boris911
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Apr 23, 2022 10:59 am

Re: How may I build HandBrake for linux with fdk-aac, please?

Post by Boris911 »

Well, if I right understand the most important step will be
./configure --enable-fdk-aac --enable-qsv --launch-jobs=$(nproc) --launch
, but without
--cross=x86_64-w64-mingw32
like was for Windows, right? 👍
Boris911
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Apr 23, 2022 10:59 am

Re: How may I build HandBrake for linux with fdk-aac, please?

Post by Boris911 »

Excellent! It's working! I thank you very much, @rollin_eng for your help. Windows license for Contabo VPS cost more then VPS itself. Well, now I am able to encode videos with FDK-AAC. 👍
Post Reply