Handbrake failed: 1920 x 1200 mp4 file

HandBrake for Mac support
Forum rules
An Activity Log is required for support requests. Please read How-to get an activity log? for details on how and why this should be provided.
Post Reply
exod
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2014 7:41 pm

Handbrake failed: 1920 x 1200 mp4 file

Post by exod »

Description of problem or question:
Encoding of attached file failed



Steps to reproduce the problem (If Applicable):
see log



HandBrake version (e.g., 1.0.0):
Version 1.3.3 (2020061300)



Operating system and version (e.g., Ubuntu 16.04 LTS, macOS 10.13 High Sierra, Windows 10 Creators Update):
macOS 10.15



HandBrake Activity Log ***required*** (see How-to get an activity log)

Code: Select all

https://pastebin.com/UknptCRD
User avatar
Ritsuka
HandBrake Team
Posts: 1321
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2007 11:29 am

Re: Handbrake failed: 1920 x 1200 mp4 file

Post by Ritsuka »

x265 [error]: picture dimensions are out of range for specified level
Woodstock
Veteran User
Posts: 4318
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2013 6:39 am

Re: Handbrake failed: 1920 x 1200 mp4 file

Post by Woodstock »

Translation: Allow handbrake to select the level automatically, rather than trying to force a specific encoder level.
exod
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2014 7:41 pm

Re: Handbrake failed: 1920 x 1200 mp4 file

Post by exod »

thanks for the direction. for anyone else coming to this post

Video tab > Encorder Options > Level > auto

results in no errors.
exod
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2014 7:41 pm

Re: Handbrake failed: 1920 x 1200 mp4 file

Post by exod »

Should the level option always be auto?
Woodstock
Veteran User
Posts: 4318
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2013 6:39 am

Re: Handbrake failed: 1920 x 1200 mp4 file

Post by Woodstock »

The "factory stock" presets usually have level set to Auto, but your "h-now" preset appears to have 4.0 set.
exod
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2014 7:41 pm

Re: Handbrake failed: 1920 x 1200 mp4 file

Post by exod »

odd.. seems like the factory one was set to 4.0 Selected Fast 1080p30 and it was 4.0. Good to know what the factory should be.

thanks!
Woodstock
Veteran User
Posts: 4318
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2013 6:39 am

Re: Handbrake failed: 1920 x 1200 mp4 file

Post by Woodstock »

The Fast 1080p30 preset was within the limits of level 4.0, at a fixed maximum resolution of 1920x1080. When you removed that restriction (saved it without the resolution limit), it needed to be changed to Auto.

It seems strange to have to manually set auto, but...
User avatar
Rodeo
HandBrake Team
Posts: 12861
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 8:55 pm

Re: Handbrake failed: 1920 x 1200 mp4 file

Post by Rodeo »

exod wrote: Fri Nov 26, 2021 4:06 am odd.. seems like the factory one was set to 4.0 Selected Fast 1080p30 and it was 4.0. Good to know what the factory should be.
1920x1200 is more pixels than 1080p though ;-)
Post Reply