1.3.0 Subtitles not appearing for Musical Content, 1.2.2 Works

HandBrake for Windows support
Forum rules
An Activity Log is required for support requests. Please read How-to get an activity log? for details on how and why this should be provided.
Post Reply
ckennylin
New User
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2019 6:43 am

1.3.0 Subtitles not appearing for Musical Content, 1.2.2 Works

Post by ckennylin » Mon Dec 02, 2019 6:58 am

Description of problem or question:
Subtitles do not appear especially with musical content that has CC608 Encoding. Rolling back to 1.2.2 works.



Steps to reproduce the problem (If Applicable):
Source is a TiVo recording with musical content (i.e. Great Performances). When encoding, add subtitle track (Unknown, Closed Caption [CC608])
Playback in VLC, display subtitle track
When encoding using 1.2.2, subtitles of spoken words, descriptions, and lyrics appear. This is the expected behavior.
When encoding using 1.3.0, only subtitles of spoken words appear, description that normally display between brackets, and lyrics normally displaying between music notes do NOT appear.


HandBrake version (e.g., 1.0.0):
1.3.0



Operating system and version (e.g., Ubuntu 16.04 LTS, macOS 10.13 High Sierra, Windows 10 Creators Update):
Windows 10 Pro 1909



HandBrake Activity Log ***required*** (see How-to get an activity log)

Code: Select all

(not applicable?)

User avatar
JohnAStebbins
HandBrake Team
Posts: 5485
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 7:21 pm

Re: 1.3.0 Subtitles not appearing for Musical Content, 1.2.2 Works

Post by JohnAStebbins » Mon Dec 02, 2019 4:43 pm

Nice story. I've not yet seen any similar issues raised. So guess you're just SOL till someone else comes along who is willing to supply logs showing us the full before and after behaviour.

mduell
Veteran User
Posts: 6753
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 8:54 pm

Re: 1.3.0 Subtitles not appearing for Musical Content, 1.2.2 Works

Post by mduell » Mon Dec 02, 2019 7:59 pm

ckennylin wrote:
Mon Dec 02, 2019 6:58 am
HandBrake Activity Log ***required*** (see How-to get an activity log)

Code: Select all

(not applicable?)
You must not have read the link!

Post Reply