Preset File Location

Discuss encoding for devices and presets.
Forum rules
An Activity Log is required for support requests. Please read How-to get an activity log? for details on how and why this should be provided.
Post Reply
cw2
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Aug 09, 2019 6:55 pm

Preset File Location

Post by cw2 » Fri Aug 09, 2019 7:26 pm

Description of problem or question:

I built a new computer and I forgot to export my presets to transfer to the new drive. I have a hard drive dock so I can access the old hard drive but when I run handbrake from the old drive my saved presets don't show up. Where can I find the presets? I'm hoping I didn't accidentally delete them when I backed everything up.


Operating system and version (e.g., Ubuntu 16.04 LTS, macOS 10.13 High Sierra, Windows 10 Creators Update):

Windows 10

User avatar
BradleyS
Moderator
Posts: 1586
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2007 12:16 pm

Re: Preset File Location

Post by BradleyS » Sat Aug 10, 2019 1:34 am

See the info at the bottom of this page for location info: https://handbrake.fr/docs/en/1.2.0/help ... y-log.html

C:\Users\Username\AppData\Roaming\HandBrake

cw2
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Aug 09, 2019 6:55 pm

Re: Preset File Location

Post by cw2 » Sat Aug 10, 2019 10:23 pm

Thanks BradleyS I was able to find what I think are the presets. Now I'm trying to figure out how to import them. The files are xml but it looks like HandBrake is looking for .plist. Thanks! I've been using handbrake for years but this stuff is all new to me.

video.baba
Posts: 55
Joined: Sun May 24, 2015 11:12 am

Re: Preset File Location

Post by video.baba » Sun Aug 11, 2019 2:46 am

You haven't mention Handbrake versions, both old and new. Presets are 'JSON' files. (example: presets.json)

cw2
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Aug 09, 2019 6:55 pm

Re: Preset File Location

Post by cw2 » Sun Aug 11, 2019 3:33 am

The version which the presets were saved on was 0.10.5.0. The version which I'm trying to import them to is 1.2.2. The only files I see other than que recovery is presets, settings, user_presets. All as xml files.

User avatar
s55
HandBrake Team
Posts: 9496
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2006 1:05 pm

Re: Preset File Location

Post by s55 » Sun Aug 11, 2019 10:58 am

What your trying to do, isn't supported I'ma afraid. There isn't an upgrade path available for the older format.

Post Reply