HandBrake 1.2.0 Discussion Thread

General questions or discussion about HandBrake, Video and/or audio transcoding, trends etc.
vichman
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2018 6:15 pm

Re: HandBrake 1.2.0 Discussion Thread

Post by vichman » Sat Jan 05, 2019 9:37 am

Hello all,
vichman wrote:
Sat Dec 29, 2018 7:37 am
s55 wrote:
Fri Dec 28, 2018 6:49 pm
If your on Windows, you can set the language view preferences. Not sure if that's an option on mac.
I am on a Mac, and unfortunately there is no such option in the preferences in the Mac version...
any news on this topic?
It would be great if people would not be forced to use a certain language setting, but would be able to pick one themselves.
Thanks!

Stefan

Kxronos
New User
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2019 4:12 pm

Re: HandBrake 1.2.0 Discussion Thread

Post by Kxronos » Wed Jan 23, 2019 4:24 pm

Rodeo wrote:
Sat Dec 29, 2018 6:17 pm
Yes, there's a known issue with 5.1 channel AAC which will be fixed in the next version.
Oh man I'm glad you said this! It was driving me crazy. I just switched how I rip my disks at the same time updating to HB 1.2.0 and I thought I was ripping my movies wrong or something. I use TrueHD as the Source and convert it to AAC 5.1 in HB. After updating HB to 1.2.0 there was no audio. Tried 2 computers, reripping my disk, using an old ripped disk image, downgrading to HB 1.1.2 and the Mac version in troubleshooting.

Glad to know you guys are aware of the issue. I'll stick with 1.1.2 for now, but happy to see the upgrades in 1.2 waiting for me.

Thanks

rollin_eng
Veteran User
Posts: 3094
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 11:06 pm

Re: HandBrake 1.2.0 Discussion Thread

Post by rollin_eng » Wed Jan 23, 2019 4:49 pm

Kxronos wrote:
Wed Jan 23, 2019 4:24 pm
Rodeo wrote:
Sat Dec 29, 2018 6:17 pm
Yes, there's a known issue with 5.1 channel AAC which will be fixed in the next version.
Oh man I'm glad you said this! It was driving me crazy. I just switched how I rip my disks at the same time updating to HB 1.2.0 and I thought I was ripping my movies wrong or something. I use TrueHD as the Source and convert it to AAC 5.1 in HB. After updating HB to 1.2.0 there was no audio. Tried 2 computers, reripping my disk, using an old ripped disk image, downgrading to HB 1.1.2 and the Mac version in troubleshooting.

Glad to know you guys are aware of the issue. I'll stick with 1.1.2 for now, but happy to see the upgrades in 1.2 waiting for me.

Thanks
You should post your log in a support request in case it’s a different issue.

ukbirdflu
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2019 12:05 pm

Re: HandBrake 1.2.0 Discussion Thread

Post by ukbirdflu » Sat Jan 26, 2019 12:10 pm

For me the news isn't that great. Version 1.2 requires 4.7 .net framework to run, tried to install that but it is not supported by my old Windows 8 PC, so I guess this is the end of any further updates.

User avatar
s55
HandBrake Team
Posts: 9461
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2006 1:05 pm

Re: HandBrake 1.2.0 Discussion Thread

Post by s55 » Sat Jan 26, 2019 12:27 pm

4.7 Runs fine on Windows 8.1

Is there any reason your running the original version of Windows 8 without updates?

ukbirdflu
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2019 12:05 pm

Re: HandBrake 1.2.0 Discussion Thread

Post by ukbirdflu » Sat Jan 26, 2019 12:47 pm

Just not bothered to upgrade to 8.1, fear of getting problems as a few friends told me they encountered problems while upgrading.

User avatar
s55
HandBrake Team
Posts: 9461
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2006 1:05 pm

Re: HandBrake 1.2.0 Discussion Thread

Post by s55 » Sat Jan 26, 2019 12:56 pm

Your choice but your exposing yourself to risk and an increasing number of software packages that won't work on the platform.

ukbirdflu
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2019 12:05 pm

Re: HandBrake 1.2.0 Discussion Thread

Post by ukbirdflu » Sat Jan 26, 2019 4:07 pm

Handbrake 1.1 is working on my Windows 8 and it is suffice for my needs. Windows 8 is a bit old I agree, I always follow this saying: If it ain't broke, don't fix it.

Post Reply