Please explain Frame Threads in extra Options

Discuss encoding for devices and presets.
Forum rules
An Activity Log is required for support requests. Please read How-to get an activity log? for details on how and why this should be provided.
Post Reply
Rico88
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2019 10:40 am

Please explain Frame Threads in extra Options

Post by Rico88 » Sat Jan 12, 2019 10:54 am

Hey Guys,

I used Handbrake long time without the command line "Extra Options".

Now i got a Threadripper CPU and i read that the Quality will become lower because of automatically switch to more Frame Threads.

To avoid that, i wanted to type in extra Options but i have no Idea if im doing it right, would you please confirm or correct me?

The only Thing i now do is type in "--frame-threads=0". Nothing more. Is this correct? Where can i check if Handbrake really take my extra Options in the Future. Is there are Log or anything like this?

It would be nice if anybody could help me.

Thanks, Ric

rollin_eng
Veteran User
Posts: 3042
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 11:06 pm

Re: Please explain Frame Threads in extra Options

Post by rollin_eng » Sat Jan 12, 2019 11:38 am

Could you please post your HB logs, instructions can be found here:

https://handbrake.fr/docs/en/latest/hel ... y-log.html

mduell
Veteran User
Posts: 6447
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 8:54 pm

Re: Please explain Frame Threads in extra Options

Post by mduell » Sat Jan 12, 2019 11:00 pm

As long as you're not using a bitrate target or vbv, the impact of a lot of threads isn't that bad. I don't believe you'll be able to see the difference.

Rico88
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2019 10:40 am

Re: Please explain Frame Threads in extra Options

Post by Rico88 » Sat Jan 12, 2019 11:07 pm

Last edited by Rico88 on Sat Jan 12, 2019 11:16 pm, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
s55
HandBrake Team
Posts: 9394
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2006 1:05 pm

Re: Please explain Frame Threads in extra Options

Post by s55 » Sat Jan 12, 2019 11:08 pm

[23:34:08] x264 options: Unknown suboption --frame-threads

drop the --

If x264 doesn't accept the option, it'll throw an message such as the above in the log.
Note, we don't use x264 Command line, so options don't take the --

Rico88
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2019 10:40 am

Re: Please explain Frame Threads in extra Options

Post by Rico88 » Sat Jan 12, 2019 11:24 pm

Oh ok, so frame-threads=0 is the correct one?
Does this make sense with 24 Thread CPU? Want to get highest Quality as possible.

@mduell I´m using average Bitrate ever. Don´t know what vbv is.
Sorry for noob questions here but my english is like meh... And i´ve only found english manuals for Handbrake. :/

Edit: frame-threads=0 and frame-threads 0 produce this error message unknown too.
Don´t know what to do?

mduell
Veteran User
Posts: 6447
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 8:54 pm

Re: Please explain Frame Threads in extra Options

Post by mduell » Sat Jan 12, 2019 11:51 pm

Use the slower encoder preset, it will give you more quality at your bitrate target than limiting the threads ever will.

Rico88
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2019 10:40 am

Re: Please explain Frame Threads in extra Options

Post by Rico88 » Sat Jan 12, 2019 11:57 pm

Ok, this is a statement i can deal with. Thank you

But just for me, i want to know how extra options work. Meanwhile i found the german manual, my fault. :)
What is the correct command for limiting the threads

mduell
Veteran User
Posts: 6447
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 8:54 pm

Re: Please explain Frame Threads in extra Options

Post by mduell » Sun Jan 13, 2019 12:05 am

What are you trying to set threads to? 0 means auto, but you say you don't want auto, but you keep posting about frame-threads=0...

Rico88
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2019 10:40 am

Re: Please explain Frame Threads in extra Options

Post by Rico88 » Sun Jan 13, 2019 12:44 am

Oh thank you now i feel really dumb :D

Then i want to set it to 2 because 2 is imho the auto setting from handbrake <=4 Cores/8 Threads afaik

I only read more threads = lower quality and so i wanted to set it off (by 0) But now i think there must be frame threads to work.
I dont know, i´ve just used Handbrake with the klick settings, never studied the technic behind. Just started now. Sorry

User avatar
Rodeo
HandBrake Team
Posts: 12067
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 8:55 pm

Re: Please explain Frame Threads in extra Options

Post by Rodeo » Sun Jan 13, 2019 10:49 am

Keep in mind if you go from 12 (default frame threads with 8 logical cores) to 2, your encode will be 5 to 6 times slower…

Threads' effect on quality is mostly negligible so long as (thread_count) is <= (Vres / 40), where Vres is the vertical resolution in pixels. So with 12 threads, even a full frame NTSC DVD (480 pixels) will hardly suffer any degradation due to threading.

Rico88
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2019 10:40 am

Re: Please explain Frame Threads in extra Options

Post by Rico88 » Sun Jan 13, 2019 5:52 pm

Oh ok. Thank you all. When the encode takes 4-5x longer and the quality difference isn´t that much then i will forget the threads.

Btw, the slower preset doesn´t work for me, 1080P ok, just fine but 4k it takes much too long.
4k is Hardcore.

User avatar
Rodeo
HandBrake Team
Posts: 12067
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 8:55 pm

Re: Please explain Frame Threads in extra Options

Post by Rodeo » Sun Jan 13, 2019 7:32 pm

Well, 4K has about 4 times as many pixels as 1080p, so encoding is about 4 times slower…

Rico88
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2019 10:40 am

Re: Please explain Frame Threads in extra Options

Post by Rico88 » Mon Jan 14, 2019 12:21 am

Plus that x265 takes more time then x264 i think. Isn't it

User avatar
Rodeo
HandBrake Team
Posts: 12067
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 8:55 pm

Re: Please explain Frame Threads in extra Options

Post by Rodeo » Mon Jan 14, 2019 8:28 am

Yes.

Post Reply