H.265 (NVidia NVEnc) 10-Bit missing

HandBrake for Windows support
Forum rules
An Activity Log is required for support requests. Please read How-to get an activity log? for details on how and why this should be provided.
Post Reply
Mart666
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2018 7:57 pm

H.265 (NVidia NVEnc) 10-Bit missing

Post by Mart666 » Sun Dec 30, 2018 8:38 pm

Description of problem or question:

When selecting H.265 (NVidia NVEnc) encoder, there is no way to set video to 10-Bit. It always produce 8-Bit when the source is 10-Bit.

Also, there is no way to set Encoder Profile to main10, even with adding in the "Extra Options" these ffmpeg command line parameters :

--profile main10 --output-depth 10


Steps to reproduce the problem (If Applicable):

Use any MKV H265 10-Bit hdr10 video, like bluray remux as input, select video encoder "H.265 (NVidia NVEnc)", you can let the encoder profile to auto, select encoder preset Slow, and the output is always 8-Bit, not 10-Bit.


HandBrake version (e.g., 1.0.0):

1.2.0 (2018121700)


Operating system and version (e.g., Ubuntu 16.04 LTS, macOS 10.13 High Sierra, Windows 10 Creators Update):

Windows 10 Pro 1809


HandBrake Activity Log ***required*** (see How-to get an activity log)

https://pastebin.com/YZ6KLaEV

Code: Select all

https://pastebin.com/drLsCr7Z

User avatar
s55
HandBrake Team
Posts: 9522
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2006 1:05 pm

Re: H.265 (NVidia NVEnc) 10-Bit missing

Post by s55 » Sun Dec 30, 2018 10:19 pm

This isn't supported i'm afraid.

Mart666
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2018 7:57 pm

Re: H.265 (NVidia NVEnc) 10-Bit missing

Post by Mart666 » Tue Jan 01, 2019 6:09 am

But NVEnc support it absolutely perfectly... I think it's only missing options in the GUI to handle it... Adding parameters in extra options don't do the trick.

User avatar
s55
HandBrake Team
Posts: 9522
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2006 1:05 pm

Re: H.265 (NVidia NVEnc) 10-Bit missing

Post by s55 » Tue Jan 01, 2019 10:46 am

Let me rephrase, It's not supported within HandBrake.

Media_Allen
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2018 3:11 pm

Re: H.265 (NVidia NVEnc) 10-Bit missing

Post by Media_Allen » Thu Jan 03, 2019 4:44 am

I have a new GeForce 1060, with driver ver. 25.21.14.1735, and running Handbrake 1.2.0 (2018121700)
The Docs say I need driver 399.14 or higher, which isn't an Nvidia driver version!
I SEE the options (H.264 & H.265), but when I enable either, the transcode fails immediately.

Has anyone been able to enable this in the GUI and had it work? (I've tried using both H.264 and H.265 Nvidia NVEnc with no lock)

Salem874
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2016 9:32 pm

Re: H.265 (NVidia NVEnc) 10-Bit missing

Post by Salem874 » Thu Jan 03, 2019 3:57 pm

Media_Allen wrote:
Thu Jan 03, 2019 4:44 am
I have a new GeForce 1060, with driver ver. 25.21.14.1735, and running Handbrake 1.2.0 (2018121700)
The Docs say I need driver 399.14 or higher, which isn't an Nvidia driver version!
I SEE the options (H.264 & H.265), but when I enable either, the transcode fails immediately.

Has anyone been able to enable this in the GUI and had it work? (I've tried using both H.264 and H.265 Nvidia NVEnc with no lock)
399.14 driver versions do match Nvidia driver version number formats.

Check the NVidia website for the latest drivers for GTX 1060. For example, the latest (Windows) drivers for the GTX 1060 is 417.35 (released 12 December 2018)

User avatar
Rodeo
HandBrake Team
Posts: 12160
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 8:55 pm

Re: H.265 (NVidia NVEnc) 10-Bit missing

Post by Rodeo » Thu Jan 03, 2019 4:06 pm

Media_Allen wrote:
Thu Jan 03, 2019 4:44 am
I have a new GeForce 1060, with driver ver. 25.21.14.1735
That would be driver 417.35, I think.

Goozling
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2019 12:22 pm

Re: H.265 (NVidia NVEnc) 10-Bit missing

Post by Goozling » Fri Jan 11, 2019 4:29 am

Salem874 wrote:
Thu Jan 03, 2019 3:57 pm
Media_Allen wrote:
Thu Jan 03, 2019 4:44 am
I have a new GeForce 1060, with driver ver. 25.21.14.1735, and running Handbrake 1.2.0 (2018121700)
The Docs say I need driver 399.14 or higher, which isn't an Nvidia driver version!
I SEE the options (H.264 & H.265), but when I enable either, the transcode fails immediately.

Has anyone been able to enable this in the GUI and had it work? (I've tried using both H.264 and H.265 Nvidia NVEnc with no lock)
399.14 driver versions do match Nvidia driver version number formats.

Check the NVidia website for the latest drivers for GTX 1060. For example, the latest (Windows) drivers for the GTX 1060 is 417.35 (released 12 December 2018)
Does error occur always in the same spot (is error exactly repeatable on the encoded file if you open and close, or is it random ? )

Check if it's a display or decoding problem of the encoded file. e.g. try with different decoder/player MPCHC, VLC, potplayer, smplayer etc...

Check if it's a display or decoding problem of the source file - if input has the same error, then it's not NVEnc issue / or if you encode with other encoder using same decoder without errors, it's not NVEnc issue

Is card overclocked ? If so, check temps & voltage / repeat at stock speeds

Goozling
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2019 12:22 pm

Re: H.265 (NVidia NVEnc) 10-Bit missing

Post by Goozling » Thu Jun 27, 2019 3:07 pm

Goozling wrote:
Fri Jan 11, 2019 4:29 am
Salem874 wrote:
Thu Jan 03, 2019 3:57 pm
Media_Allen wrote:
Thu Jan 03, 2019 4:44 am
I have a new GeForce 1060, with driver ver. 25.21.14.1735, and running Handbrake 1.2.0 (2018121700)
The Docs say I need driver 399.14 or higher, which isn't an Nvidia driver version!
I SEE the options (H.264 & H.265), but when I enable either, the transcode fails immediately.

Has anyone been able to enable this in the GUI and had it work? (I've tried using both H.264 and H.265 Nvidia NVEnc with no lock)
399.14 driver versions do match Nvidia driver version number formats.

Check the NVidia website for the latest drivers for GTX 1060. For example, the latest (Windows) drivers for the GTX 1060 is 417.35 (released 12 December 2018)
Does error occur always in the same spot (is error exactly repeatable on the encoded file if you open and close, or is it random ? )

Check if it's a display or decoding problem of the encoded file. e.g. try with different decoder/player MPCHC, VLC, potplayer, smplayer etc...

Check if it's a display or decoding problem of the source file - if input has the same error, then it's not NVEnc issue / or if you encode with other encoder using same decoder without errors, it's not NVEnc issue

Is card overclocked ? If so, check temps & voltage / repeat at stock speeds
Use any MKV H265 10-Bit hdr10 video, like bluray remux as input, select video encoder "H.265 (NVidia NVEnc)", you can let the encoder profile to auto, select encoder preset Slow, and the output is always 8-Bit, not 10-Bit.

User avatar
s55
HandBrake Team
Posts: 9522
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2006 1:05 pm

Re: H.265 (NVidia NVEnc) 10-Bit missing

Post by s55 » Thu Jun 27, 2019 9:33 pm

Use any MKV H265 10-Bit hdr10 video, like bluray remux as input, select video encoder "H.265 (NVidia NVEnc)", you can let the encoder profile to auto, select encoder preset Slow, and the output is always 8-Bit, not 10-Bit.
This is the expected behaviour. There is no support for 10bit NVEnc in HandBrake.

Post Reply