FLIP Video

Archive of historical feature requests.
Please use the GitHub link above to report issues.
Forum rules
*******************************

Please be aware we are now using GitHub for issue tracking and feature requests.

- This forum is now closed to new topics.
- Existing topics will remain open for a short while as the transition over occurs.
*******************************
Post Reply
vinniem767
New User
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2017 1:47 am

FLIP Video

Post by vinniem767 » Thu Feb 02, 2017 1:55 am

I'd love to see a feature of simply flipping video's for 90° 180° 270° just means I would have to open the file in any other video editing software.

i wanna see this added because i alway for get to rotate my Gopro or mounted it in a different direction this time, or even or Phone when i start recording and the bloody thing doesn't realise what way apple drop.

User avatar
Ritsuka
HandBrake Team
Posts: 1000
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2007 11:29 am

Re: FLIP Video

Post by Ritsuka » Thu Feb 02, 2017 7:38 am

It's already in HandBrake since version 1.

Cantar4
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2016 7:07 am

Re: FLIP Video

Post by Cantar4 » Fri Jun 09, 2017 8:58 pm

we already had this discussion during the summer 2016,
viewtopic.php?f=26&t=29996&start=25 .

Happily enough, Libav12 beta-1 was released 2016 October 02.
Among other goodies it automatically rotates videos based on metadata given by the camera.
I hope a developper will put it at work, since without this feature it's a real hassle
to manually reset (take-after-take) the very often needed 180°rotation.
-- jp

KPreston2900050
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jul 26, 2017 8:17 pm

Re: FLIP Video

Post by KPreston2900050 » Wed Jul 26, 2017 8:25 pm

Somewhere along the lines this automation that has been instilled is now flipping my video's so they have a reverse image.

The video's play normal and you wouldn't notice anything if it didn't have a title.

So if it said John's Favorite Video it would show oediV etirovaF s'nhoj. Respectively the font would be reversed but you get the concept.

This is when transcoding old video's to h265 HEVC regular 8 bit.

So is there any way I can turn this switch off to stop this annoying behavior?
It seems to do this randomly, mostly with old .avi files I am re-compressing to a modern codec.

If there is no way to stop it then how is there a header editor that I can just switch two bytes for it to play correctly without re-re encoding it to turn it back around.

mduell
Veteran User
Posts: 6197
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 8:54 pm

Re: FLIP Video

Post by mduell » Wed Jul 26, 2017 9:14 pm

Post your encode log in a support thread so we can see whats happening.

Woodstock
Veteran User
Posts: 2820
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2013 6:39 am

Re: FLIP Video

Post by Woodstock » Wed Jul 26, 2017 9:24 pm

Did you look at the videos BEFORE you encoded them?

I see a LOT of videos that "flip" certain scenes to avoid copyright take-downs.

KPreston2900050
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jul 26, 2017 8:17 pm

Re: FLIP Video

Post by KPreston2900050 » Thu Jul 27, 2017 8:11 am

No, they were normal facing. I double checked.
It's not all of them just certain ones to include home movies.

They are all pre Blueray old, mpg and avi files.
As a matter of fact, all my HD Video's recompress great, except the audio doesn't do what I want in batch mode so I have to add them one at a time.
That's besides the point.
Just older titles from the days of yesteryear.

but I'll post the log,

KPreston2900050
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jul 26, 2017 8:17 pm

Re: FLIP Video

Post by KPreston2900050 » Thu Jul 27, 2017 5:14 pm

I went through my logs and all the videos that have reversed without my asking have this command + avfilter (hflip)
I don't know if that's a coincidence but if that command flips the video why would it be called without specifically asking for it?

That's not some auto correction deal, that would be an option.
Hmm, must investigate further.

User avatar
Rodeo
HandBrake Team
Posts: 11957
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 8:55 pm

Re: FLIP Video

Post by Rodeo » Thu Jul 27, 2017 5:27 pm

Well, it would help if you were to provide the logs :)

KPreston2900050
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jul 26, 2017 8:17 pm

Re: FLIP Video

Post by KPreston2900050 » Thu Jul 27, 2017 5:34 pm

OK, I am really getting ahead of myself because this is not the bugs or troubleshooting area so I will finalize with this.

Looking into the GUI in the filter area is a radio button for FLIP.
Some of my videos has that turned on which I did not do.
I batched a directory where my HD professional 1080p videos recompiled normally according to the logs yet my lores old avi/mpg/divx type files had mixed results like decomb, flip and what not.

I appreciate automation but when I set one custom setting to something it needs to do what I want and not interpret what I want.
Anyway, any other mention will be in the proper thread.

Thanks.

BTW, If I had to request a preset I would like VR settings for like Oculus, GearVR and any other major brand.

User avatar
BradleyS
Moderator
Posts: 1427
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2007 12:16 pm

Re: FLIP Video

Post by BradleyS » Thu Jul 27, 2017 6:21 pm

Definitely will add VR settings in the future. I don't think any of our developers have hardware for testing yet.

mduell
Veteran User
Posts: 6197
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 8:54 pm

Re: FLIP Video

Post by mduell » Thu Jul 27, 2017 8:16 pm

If you picked hflip and saved it in a preset, any time you use that preset in the future you'll get hflip. This is a feature, not a bug.

KPreston2900050
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jul 26, 2017 8:17 pm

Re: FLIP Video

Post by KPreston2900050 » Mon Jul 31, 2017 5:09 am

That wasn't the case.
What I discovered, if you chose to accept it...

All my older video's flipped while in batch mode.
Same as I created a preset to recompress all my 6 to to an aac codec and yet it constantly recompressed them down to 2 channel stereo no matter what my settings were.

Bug or not, I just add each thing 1 at a time to the cue and funny how life all works out.

It's not a complaint, it's a fact that I learned the hard way after a 20 hour encode.

KPreston2900050
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jul 26, 2017 8:17 pm

Re: FLIP Video

Post by KPreston2900050 » Mon Jul 31, 2017 5:15 am

BTW, I get it....
I noticed the flip switch in the gui.
And no, I didn't set it to flip.
So for now on, I will go behind the automated process and check every single setting because someone in their goofball mind decided on this automated process crap that never works.

I put up with it with NVidia, Google, Microsoft, AVG and now this.
I wish I lived in a world where when I set something it stays that way.
I go through a lengthy process to setup a situation just to have someone change things for my own good.
Now I have a library of flipped video's I have to redo.

mduell
Veteran User
Posts: 6197
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 8:54 pm

Re: FLIP Video

Post by mduell » Mon Jul 31, 2017 4:11 pm

Yea, I don't believe you.

Although the GUI is [Censored] of frustration, and anyone looking for a reasonable experience is on the CLI.

Cantar4
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2016 7:07 am

Re: FLIP Video

Post by Cantar4 » Sat Sep 09, 2017 12:22 pm

the end
-

Post Reply