Dvd ripping

HandBrake for Mac support
Forum rules
An Activity Log is required for support requests. Please read How-to get an activity log? for details on how and why this should be provided.
Post Reply
zio_mangrovia
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2014 6:33 am

Dvd ripping

Post by zio_mangrovia » Sat Oct 11, 2014 6:59 am

First of all I'm newbie in Mac environment and DVD ripping, I'd like to convert an amateur video to unique file so I can reproduce it into my MacBook keeping menu and buttons structure to play the several chapters.
I thought to copy the whole VIDEO_TS folder into my Mac, now can I convert it keeping MENU structure?

TedJ
Veteran User
Posts: 5388
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2008 11:25 pm

Re: Dvd ripping

Post by TedJ » Sat Oct 11, 2014 10:49 am

I'm afraid not. Interactive elements like menus are not supported in either MP4 or MKV files.

zio_mangrovia
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2014 6:33 am

Re: Dvd ripping

Post by zio_mangrovia » Sat Oct 11, 2014 12:38 pm

TedJ wrote:I'm afraid not. Interactive elements like menus are not supported in either MP4 or MKV files.
So there is no way to convert the whole dvd keeping menu? Iso format ?!

Smithcraft
Veteran User
Posts: 2691
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 8:04 pm

Re: Dvd ripping

Post by Smithcraft » Sat Oct 11, 2014 9:38 pm

Yes, you would have to use some sort of disc image format to keep the menus.

SC

User avatar
Rodeo
HandBrake Team
Posts: 12196
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 8:55 pm

Re: Dvd ripping

Post by Rodeo » Sat Oct 11, 2014 9:49 pm

Not with HandBrake though.

zio_mangrovia
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2014 6:33 am

Re: Dvd ripping

Post by zio_mangrovia » Sat Oct 11, 2014 10:49 pm

Smithcraft wrote:Yes, you would have to use some sort of disc image format to keep the menus.

SC
Handbrake can make iso format of dvd?

User avatar
Rodeo
HandBrake Team
Posts: 12196
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 8:55 pm

Re: Dvd ripping

Post by Rodeo » Sat Oct 11, 2014 11:11 pm

No.

Post Reply