Vista problem

HandBrake for Windows support
Forum rules
An Activity Log is required for support requests. Please read How-to get an activity log? for details on how and why this should be provided.
Post Reply
skreweded
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2007 11:32 pm

Vista problem

Post by skreweded »

Ok... downloaded and trying to get this here to work. I have checked to make sure the DVD isnt in the list that says it wont work, and I have made it run as admin. Problem is, it doesnt seem to recognise the DVD if i go to the drive it is in and go to VIDEO_TS. It just says automatic in Title and Chapters, and if i tell it to encode, encodes for about 5 seconds then tells me it is done, with nothing to show for its work. What is wrong?

This is the Windows GUI version.

update: restarted, now it takes the time i would expect it to, but then doesn't find any titles... Vista problem?
Lant
Regular User
Posts: 70
Joined: Wed May 02, 2007 5:33 pm

Post by Lant »

Try with windows xp sp2 compatibility mode enabled. As HB works fine for me in Vista there could be another factor (such as the dvd).
dmee
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2007 12:10 am

Post by dmee »

Same problems here and XP SP2 compat mode didn't help - nor did run as admin :-(
Keats75
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2007 1:07 am

Post by Keats75 »

Having the same exact problem. Thought I was an idiot!
User avatar
s55
HandBrake Team
Posts: 9959
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2006 1:05 pm

Post by s55 »

Thought I was an idiot!
Nah, you all are ;)

I'm going to put money on none of you reading the Faq followed by one of the guides.

Handbrake on windows does NOT decrypt commercial dvd's You need 3rd party software to do this. - AnyDVD, DVD Decryptor, DVD43 etc.
dmee
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2007 12:10 am

Post by dmee »

How much ;-)

DVD already decrypted and on hard drive
User avatar
s55
HandBrake Team
Posts: 9959
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2006 1:05 pm

Post by s55 »

You did select the correct video_ts folder right? Not done anything daft like that? Failing that it sounds like its simply not readable by handbrake.

On Vista, all it needs is admin rights and it should work just fine, asuming theres no problems with the dvd.

Tools > View DVD Information. Copy/Past the output from there here and we'll just see whats going on.
dmee
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2007 12:10 am

Post by dmee »

Hey can't you at least credit us with a *tiny* bit of knowledge! :P
Heres info - its read everything - but then does nothing with it :-(


------- DVD Information -------
HandBrake 0.8.5b1 (2007042001) - http://handbrake.m0k.org/
2 CPUs detected
Opening U:\Perfume\FullDisc\P9215 SE 1\VIDEO_TS...
Scanning title 2 of 2...
+ title 2:
+ vts 2, ttn 1, cells 0->20 (3705238 blocks)
+ duration: 02:21:23
+ size: 720x576, aspect: 1.78, 25.000 fps
+ autocrop: 70/70/2/0
+ chapters:
+ 1: cells 0->0, 230113 blocks, duration 00:08:49
+ 2: cells 1->1, 113736 blocks, duration 00:04:16
+ 3: cells 2->2, 197142 blocks, duration 00:07:25
+ 4: cells 3->3, 154636 blocks, duration 00:05:49
+ 5: cells 4->4, 153708 blocks, duration 00:05:47
+ 6: cells 5->5, 267368 blocks, duration 00:10:03
+ 7: cells 6->6, 141194 blocks, duration 00:05:17
+ 8: cells 7->7, 154025 blocks, duration 00:05:47
+ 9: cells 8->8, 199222 blocks, duration 00:07:32
+ 10: cells 9->9, 126336 blocks, duration 00:04:45
+ 11: cells 10->11, 204805 blocks, duration 00:07:46
+ 12: cells 12->12, 184118 blocks, duration 00:07:00
+ 13: cells 13->13, 142000 blocks, duration 00:05:24
+ 14: cells 14->14, 185872 blocks, duration 00:07:03
+ 15: cells 15->15, 177831 blocks, duration 00:06:45
+ 16: cells 16->16, 247404 blocks, duration 00:09:24
+ 17: cells 17->17, 170854 blocks, duration 00:06:28
+ 18: cells 18->18, 350339 blocks, duration 00:13:18
+ 19: cells 19->19, 94104 blocks, duration 00:03:35
+ 20: cells 20->20, 210431 blocks, duration 00:09:08
+ audio tracks:
+ 1, English (AC3) (5.1 ch), 48000Hz, 448000bps
+ subtitle tracks:
+ 1, English
HandBrake has exited.
User avatar
s55
HandBrake Team
Posts: 9959
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2006 1:05 pm

Post by s55 »

hmm. interesting.

I'm going to take a look at the code again tomorrow. Its quite possible its down to the fact there is only 1 title and a loop is ending before it's done. something like that maybe. Its certainly read the disc ok.

What to do is put a 2 in the dvd title box. leave the chapters on auto.

Setup your encode and hit encode video. See what happens.
dmee
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2007 12:10 am

Post by dmee »

:D :D :D :D

Selecting the "2" did it :-)

OK so "automatic" needs some work :-)
User avatar
s55
HandBrake Team
Posts: 9959
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2006 1:05 pm

Post by s55 »

automatic should simply not pass a value to handbrake cli therefor making it use the first title on the disc.

I just glanced over the code and am now pretty sure the loop is ending prematurely when the dvd only has 1 title.

The whole read dvd window needs re-written. The code that parses Handbrake CLI's output is awful really and overly complicated so basically I think I'll just re-write the whole lot for 2.3 ( which currently has a shed load of fixes and improvements. + a few fixes for vista)

I guess that means i'll probably throw a beta copy your way in the next few days since I have no dvd's with one title. (if you don't mind)
dmee
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2007 12:10 am

Post by dmee »

:D

No probs
jonyah
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 7:53 pm

Post by jonyah »

if you want to send that beta my way too, I'm having the same issue on my vista machine and can help test it for you.

nevermind, this was only happening when trying to go directly from an encoded dvd. after creating an iso to my drive and decrypting it, it stopped happening. my vista box seems to be working fine now.
dmee
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2007 12:10 am

Post by dmee »

You sent me the beta but it wasn't any better - heard nothing since.....
User avatar
s55
HandBrake Team
Posts: 9959
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2006 1:05 pm

Post by s55 »

Been busy doing a port of the GUI from vb.net to C#.net

It has a new parser's that works differently however if the old code didn't work, I don't see the new code working. I don't believe it's a parser issue.

I've not been able to re-create your problem with the beta I sent you (which someone else has confirmed fixed the same issue)

All you can do now is hope that the next build decides to work a bit better. I'm still working on it but a release should be in the near future.
dmee
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2007 12:10 am

Post by dmee »

Its UK DVD of "Perfume - Story of a Murderer" if you can get a copy - ripped to disk by DVD Decrypter

I can send you VOB files if you would like
Post Reply