AMD Phenom II X4 940

Post your testing results with HandBrake.
Post Reply
squeezy
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2009 5:00 am

AMD Phenom II X4 940

Post by squeezy » Thu Feb 05, 2009 5:33 am

Machine Type: AMD Phenom II X4 940, GSkill 2 x 2GB DDR2 1066, GA-MA78G-DS3HP
CPU Speed: 3.0 GHz
Number of CPUs: 4 cores
OS: Windows Vista Ultimate 64-bit
Rip Format: MP4
Encoder: x264
Video Size & settings: 720x480 (Basic - Normal setting)

Code: Select all

ref=2:bframes=2:me=umh
Quality / Bit Rate: 1500
1 or 2 Pass: 1
Min/Max or Average Frames Per Second (FPS): min 64 FPS / max 170 FPS / avg 77 FPS

I just got this processor in today and so far I am loving it. I upgraded from an AMD X2 6000+ 3.1 GHz. The cores idle at 37C and peaked at 52C while encoding with stock cooling. CPU Usage was between 80% - 95%.

J_Wurs
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2009 3:17 pm

Re: AMD Phenom II X4 940

Post by J_Wurs » Tue Aug 18, 2009 3:21 pm

I am interested in getting your setup to do a lot of encoding of some old files. I was told that you need roughly 2 GB of Ram per core to run at max speed. How is it working with your 2 gb of Ram, any issues with that? Also are you running a SATA hard drive? I just want to squeeze the max i can out of it...

Thanks

User avatar
s55
HandBrake Team
Posts: 9582
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2006 1:05 pm

Re: AMD Phenom II X4 940

Post by s55 » Tue Aug 18, 2009 4:06 pm

However told you that was talking rubbish.

Handbrake will not use anywhere near that amount of ram.

For SD sources, your only talking 100~200MB.
For HD 500~700MB
The amount of cores has nothing to do with it.

Any decent Sata Harddrive should be fine. They are not generally a bottleneck.

bradycl
Posts: 74
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2009 8:10 pm

Re: AMD Phenom II X4 940

Post by bradycl » Wed Aug 19, 2009 7:36 am

I'd love to see what that setup would do if running an x64 flavor of linux with an x64 build of recent code.

Post Reply