Core2 being slow. Very slow.

Post your testing results with HandBrake.
Post Reply
six-leaf
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2009 4:19 pm

Core2 being slow. Very slow.

Post by six-leaf »

Machine Type: Core 2 T5200 Laptop
CPU Speed: 1.73
Number of CPUs 2
Rip Format (MP4, AVI etc) MKV x264
Encoder: Film preset
Video Size & settings: 1920x800
Quality / Bit Rate: 14366 kbps
1 or 2 Pass: 2
Min/Max or Average Frames Per Second (FPS): 10.5fps first pass/ 1.5fps second pass

Machine Type: Core 2 Q6600
CPU Speed: 2.4
Number of CPUs 4
Rip Format (MP4, AVI etc) MKV x264
Encoder: Film preset
Video Size & settings: 1920x800
Quality / Bit Rate: 14366 kbps
1 or 2 Pass: 2
Min/Max or Average Frames Per Second (FPS): 25fps first pass (had to go to bed before 2nd pass started)

Hi I tried on 2 PCs listed above (both running clean new installs of ubuntu 8.10 32bit (also tried on windows 7 x64, speed seems to be identical). Anyways with the speeds i'm achieving on the laptop its going to take 40 hours to encode. Its already a good 23 hours in so I figure i may as well leave it now. Whats worrying me is that even on my Q6600 it runs really slowly yet i see everyone posting numbers around 50-80fps for similar configs. Theres a very recent post on forum claiming 12 hours for a dual core @ 2.13ghz - which implies mine should be able to do it in around 6 hours at max! Is there something really obvious i should change or look at?

Thanks

User avatar
s55
HandBrake Team
Posts: 9783
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2006 1:05 pm

Re: Core2 being slow. Very slow.

Post by s55 »

I don't see anything abnormal here. Given your encoding HD, it's going to be slow.

0.1fps to 400fps on the same machine is possible. It's all down to the content and settings used.

kosobai
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2009 12:08 pm

Re: Core2 being slow. Very slow.

Post by kosobai »

Unless you absolutely have to encode in x264, why don't you encode with FFmpeg? In some instances, it can be 10x faster than x264. Sure, for any given bitrate x264 will be better, but unless you're streaming on the internet (unlikely in HD!) a few extra megabytes won't hurt.

Post Reply