Re-rip audio in mkv file to lossy?

Discuss encoding for devices and presets.
Forum rules
An Activity Log is required for support requests. Please read How-to get an activity log? for details on how and why this should be provided.
Post Reply
MCNI
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2019 1:59 pm

Re-rip audio in mkv file to lossy?

Post by MCNI »

Description of problem or question: I have a device that plays 4k MKVs without any difficulty except that it does not recognize lossless audio formats like DTS-MA or TrueHD. Is there any way to rip those files in Handbrake to leave the video untouched but convert the audio to a lossy multi channel audio format?





HandBrake version (e.g., 1.0.0):1.3.0




Operating system and version (e.g., Ubuntu 16.04 LTS, macOS 10.13 High Sierra, Windows 10 Creators Update): OS X 10.12.6

Woodstock
Veteran User
Posts: 3619
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2013 6:39 am

Re: Re-rip audio in mkv file to lossy?

Post by Woodstock »

No, handbrake is primarily a video encoder, so it's always going to encode the video.

You can use tools like ffmpeg to encode JUST the audio tracks.

musicvid
Veteran User
Posts: 3567
Joined: Sat Jun 27, 2009 1:19 am

Re: Re-rip audio in mkv file to lossy?

Post by musicvid »

Try mkvtoolnix

mduell
Veteran User
Posts: 7111
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 8:54 pm

Re: Re-rip audio in mkv file to lossy?

Post by mduell »

I'd use MakeMKV here with the original disk, rip the video track with the lossy core audio.

akyhne
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2020 1:02 am

Re: Re-rip audio in mkv file to lossy?

Post by akyhne »

I use eac3to. It's a command line tool and there are GUI tools that works with it, they just sucks.

I just have some batch files, named like "Batch - DTS to AC3.bat".
The code will look something like:

Code: Select all

eac3to.exe "D:\Video\Source.dts" "D:\Video\Destination.ac3"
or...

Code: Select all

eac3to.exe "D:\Video\Source.mkv" "D:\Video\Destination.ac3"
or..

Code: Select all

eac3to.exe "D:\Video\Source.mkv" "D:\Video\Destination.ac3" -640
to provide a new sample rate.
It's however not all cases where you can provide the .mkv file directly, but have to extract the audio first.

There are options you can/have to give in some cases, like down mix from 7.1 to 5.1

Code: Select all

eac3to.exe "D:\Video\Source.dts" "D:\Video\Destination.ac3" -down6
or... extract the tracks to .wave format, so that you can use another .wave editor to create your own file formats:

Code: Select all

eac3to.exe "D:\Video\Source.m2ts" "D:\Video\Destination.wavs"
The easiest, is to just put your batch files in the folder of eac3to, where eac3to.exe is.

https://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Eac3to/How_to_Use
https://www.videohelp.com/software/eac3to

User avatar
Rodeo
HandBrake Team
Posts: 12514
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 8:55 pm

Re: Re-rip audio in mkv file to lossy?

Post by Rodeo »

MCNI wrote:
Tue Dec 10, 2019 2:13 pm
Operating system and version (e.g., Ubuntu 16.04 LTS, macOS 10.13 High Sierra, Windows 10 Creators Update): OS X 10.12.6
akyhne wrote:
Sat Feb 08, 2020 1:24 am
I use eac3to. It's a command line tool and there are GUI tools that works with it, they just sucks.

I just have some batch files, named like "Batch - DTS to AC3.bat".
The code will look something like:

Code: Select all

eac3to.exe
It was easy to miss, but ;)

akyhne
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2020 1:02 am

Re: Re-rip audio in mkv file to lossy?

Post by akyhne »

Rodeo wrote:
Sat Feb 08, 2020 8:24 pm
It was easy to miss, but ;)
Oh well... :lol:

Life is somewhat easier with Windows.

User avatar
Rodeo
HandBrake Team
Posts: 12514
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 8:55 pm

Re: Re-rip audio in mkv file to lossy?

Post by Rodeo »

ffmpeg can do most of what eac3to does nowadays (except automatic bit depth reduction and the Blu-ray playlist features, and not sure it does audio normalization either).

akyhne
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2020 1:02 am

Re: Re-rip audio in mkv file to lossy?

Post by akyhne »

eac3to relies on ffmpeg along with other software to do it's job. But it's very easy and powerful to use.

Post Reply