Newbie question regarding presets

Discuss encoding for devices and presets.
Forum rules
An Activity Log is required for support requests. Please read How-to get an activity log? for details on how and why this should be provided.
Post Reply
atakacs
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2017 10:47 am

Newbie question regarding presets

Post by atakacs » Sun Aug 26, 2018 8:21 am

Hello

Sorry relatively new to HB (at least for the purpose of this question).

I have a large number of assorted video I'd like to re-encode to a specific standards (say h265).

I'd like to preserve as much as possible of the source quality - be it from 640x480 AVI to 4k h264 (it's a bit of a stretch but there is indeed a wide variety in the source quality).

Is there a preset that would work for that ?

rollin_eng
Veteran User
Posts: 3163
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 11:06 pm

Re: Newbie question regarding presets

Post by rollin_eng » Sun Aug 26, 2018 9:07 am

Select a preset that best suits your playback situation then take it from there.

atakacs
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2017 10:47 am

Re: Newbie question regarding presets

Post by atakacs » Sun Aug 26, 2018 5:33 pm

rollin_eng wrote:
Sun Aug 26, 2018 9:07 am
Select a preset that best suits your playback situation then take it from there.
So all presets will keep the best quality of the input material ? Yet no upsampling if I target, say, 1080p for all video ?

rollin_eng
Veteran User
Posts: 3163
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 11:06 pm

Re: Newbie question regarding presets

Post by rollin_eng » Sun Aug 26, 2018 5:57 pm

atakacs wrote:
Sun Aug 26, 2018 5:33 pm
So all presets will keep the best quality of the input material ?
Pretty much, they are not perfect but they do the best they can.
atakacs wrote:
Sun Aug 26, 2018 5:33 pm
Yet no upsampling if I target, say, 1080p for all video ?
There is no upscaling in the GUI because its usually a bad idea

Post Reply