Problem encoding DVDs

Discuss encoding for devices and presets.
Forum rules
An Activity Log is required for support requests. Please read How-to get an activity log? for details on how and why this should be provided.
stevo-m

Problem encoding DVDs

Post by stevo-m »

Hi, newbie here. Just started using HandBrake and I was pretty exited about the fact that I could rip my DVDs and put them on my PSP and iPod, but unfortunately I seem to be doing something wrong.

I tried to rip one movie and it came out at only 26 minutes long, which clearly isn't right as it's supposed to be an hour and a half! The second one I tried came out the correct length but the audio was terrible and the video was all 'blocky' and distorted - completely unviewable.

Both these DVDs are 'copy-protected', but I have read that HandBrake can successfully rip these kind of DVDs. I imagine most of my recent DVDs are copy-protected. Is there a way to successfully rip these into a good quality file I can transfer to my PSP or iPod?

Thanks in advance to anyone who can help me.
baggss

Post by baggss »

Follow the appropriate link from my signature for a guide for the iPod. I can't really help you with the PSP though.

Actually, if your using HandBrake 0.7.1, click HERE for the HB guide.
stevo-m

Post by stevo-m »

Thanks for your reply. Is MediaFork different to HandBrake?
baggss

Post by baggss »

MediaFork is next version of HandBrake. It will be renamed HandBrake again soon.
stevo-m

Post by stevo-m »

Unfortunately I still seem to be having problems. I've tried using both HandBrake and MediaFork (although I'm not even sure of the difference, to be honest) and I had the same problem with the exceptionally poor audio and distorted picture. There are green and yellow-ish pixel blocks all over the video, all the way through it. Has anyone else experienced this problem?
baggss

Post by baggss »

What DVDs are you ripping? Are you using the tutorial links I listed?
stevo-m

Post by stevo-m »