AppleTV 2nd generation but turn off CABAC

Discuss encoding for devices and presets.
Forum rules
An Activity Log is required for support requests. Please read How-to get an activity log? for details on how and why this should be provided.
Locked
discless
Regular User
Posts: 128
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2008 4:47 am

AppleTV 2nd generation but turn off CABAC

Post by discless » Mon Feb 07, 2011 9:40 pm

Is there a way to select the AppleTV 2nd generation setting, but turn off CABAC, so that it uses CAVLC coding instead? Thank you.

User avatar
Rodeo
HandBrake Team
Posts: 12262
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 8:55 pm

Re: AppleTV 2nd generation but turn off CABAC

Post by Rodeo » Mon Feb 07, 2011 9:53 pm

Yes. Steps:

1) select the AppleTV 2 preset

2) disable CABAC

3) (optional) save your custom preset

discless
Regular User
Posts: 128
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2008 4:47 am

Re: AppleTV 2nd generation but turn off CABAC

Post by discless » Mon Feb 07, 2011 10:23 pm

I am trying it now: Thank you!

mduell
Veteran User
Posts: 6746
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 8:54 pm

Re: AppleTV 2nd generation but turn off CABAC

Post by mduell » Mon Feb 07, 2011 10:29 pm

Rodeo wrote:Yes. Steps:

1) select the AppleTV 2 preset

2) disable CABAC

3) (optional) save your custom preset
4) Profit.

discless
Regular User
Posts: 128
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2008 4:47 am

Re: AppleTV 2nd generation but turn off CABAC

Post by discless » Mon Feb 07, 2011 10:37 pm

How can I use the AppleTV 2nd generation setting and turn off B frames?

The options under Advanced for B frames are a bit more challenging that just turning off CABAC.

Do I turn both Pyramidal and Adaptive off?

Thank you!

User avatar
Rodeo
HandBrake Team
Posts: 12262
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 8:55 pm

Re: AppleTV 2nd generation but turn off CABAC

Post by Rodeo » Mon Feb 07, 2011 10:43 pm

Why would you need to do such a thing?

mduell
Veteran User
Posts: 6746
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 8:54 pm

Re: AppleTV 2nd generation but turn off CABAC

Post by mduell » Tue Feb 08, 2011 12:30 am

discless wrote:How can I use the AppleTV 2nd generation setting and turn off B frames?

The options under Advanced for B frames are a bit more challenging that just turning off CABAC.

Do I turn both Pyramidal and Adaptive off?

Thank you!
Just set bframes to 0 and don't worry about the rest... however this thread is becoming more insane by the post.

discless
Regular User
Posts: 128
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2008 4:47 am

Re: AppleTV 2nd generation but turn off CABAC

Post by discless » Tue Feb 08, 2011 12:45 am

mduell wrote:
discless wrote:How can I use the AppleTV 2nd generation setting and turn off B frames?

The options under Advanced for B frames are a bit more challenging that just turning off CABAC.

Do I turn both Pyramidal and Adaptive off?

Thank you!
Just set bframes to 0 and don't worry about the rest... however this thread is becoming more insane by the post. [emphasis added]
Thank you for the tip to set to 0.

Before I decide if I should be insulted by your comment, are you an "official" moderator here, mduell; or just some kind-hearted lurker who speaks before he thinks?

User avatar
Rodeo
HandBrake Team
Posts: 12262
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 8:55 pm

Re: AppleTV 2nd generation but turn off CABAC

Post by Rodeo » Tue Feb 08, 2011 1:00 am

discless wrote:Before I decide if I should be insulted by your comment, are you an "official" moderator here, mduell; or just some kind-hearted lurker who speaks before he thinks?
Moderators and developers have their nicks in different colors (green and a different shade of blue, respectively).

Still, why do you feel you need to turn off bframes when targeting the AppleTV 2?

discless
Regular User
Posts: 128
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2008 4:47 am

Playing Max quality file on AppleTV 2 and modified AppleTV 1

Post by discless » Tue Feb 08, 2011 1:01 am

Rodeo wrote:Why would you need to do such a thing?
Rodeo: thank you for all of your continued assistance!

I am creating a so-called AppleTV 1.5 default setting:

I own two AppleTVs: A 2nd Generation and a 1st Generation "modified" to include:

a) AFP, so that I can move files directly to the AppleTV Classic's hard disk;

b) ATVFiles - so that I can play these files; and

c) Perian, so that its Quicktime will play an extended range of transcoded files.

I also own a Hauppauge HD-PVR 1212 HD digitizing encoder, which outputs files in m2ts containers.

My aim is to transcode the HD output of the HD-PVR so as to obtain the maximum quality afforded by the AppleTV 2 setting, while being able to continue to play the same file on my "modified" AppleTV Classic.

Turning off CABAC and B-Frames has achieved this result. There is no loss of quality from the AppleTV 2 setting; only an increase in the resultant file size. So, for example, my AppleTV Classic will now play 720p@30fps files, created by this AppleTV 1.5 default setting, as well. AND: although I have not tested it yet, these files may actually play in a stock, unmodifed AppleTV Classic using the so-called "fool iTunes" trick:

http://wiki.awkwardtv.org/wiki/How_to_g ... o_Apple_TV


Thank you again...

discless
Regular User
Posts: 128
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2008 4:47 am

setting maximum resolution

Post by discless » Tue Jun 21, 2011 4:08 am

I need one more change to get this to work on the AppleTV Classic without the "fool iTunes" trick:

How can I set it so that the maximum resolution is automatically always 960 x 540 when the fps rate is > 25? Thanks!

User avatar
Rodeo
HandBrake Team
Posts: 12262
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 8:55 pm

Re: setting maximum resolution

Post by Rodeo » Tue Jun 21, 2011 5:07 am

You can't. Else the AppleTV preset would already be using it.

discless
Regular User
Posts: 128
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2008 4:47 am

Re: setting maximum resolution

Post by discless » Tue Jun 21, 2011 11:22 pm

Rodeo wrote:You can't. Else the AppleTV preset would already be using it.
The original AppleTV preset does indeed have it: Feed it 1280x720@30fps and you will get 960x540 output. Feed it 1280x720@24fps and you will get 1280x720 output.

So what modification do I need to do to the AppleTV2 preset to get the same results?

See this forum comment:

viewtopic.php?f=7&t=19344&p=89062&hilit ... 540#p89071

User avatar
Rodeo
HandBrake Team
Posts: 12262
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 8:55 pm

Re: setting maximum resolution

Post by Rodeo » Tue Jun 21, 2011 11:24 pm

discless wrote:
Rodeo wrote:You can't. Else the AppleTV preset would already be using it.
The original AppleTV preset does indeed have it: Feed it 1280x720@30fps and you will get 960x540 output. Feed it 1280x720@24fps and you will get 1280x720 output.

So what modification do I need to do to the AppleTV2 preset to get the same results?
So you make claims without even testing that they're correct? The AppleTV preset has a max. width of 960 pixels, period.

Thanks for wasting our time.

discless
Regular User
Posts: 128
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2008 4:47 am

Re: AppleTV 2nd generation but turn off CABAC

Post by discless » Tue Jun 21, 2011 11:35 pm

Yes, indeed, I mis-spoke...

Let me restate the question:

How do I modify the AppleTV(2) preset so that it always limits the resolution to a max. width of 960 pixels; as does the AppleTV(1) preset. Thank you!

Tree Dude
Regular User
Posts: 128
Joined: Sun Aug 29, 2010 10:30 pm

Re: AppleTV 2nd generation but turn off CABAC

Post by Tree Dude » Wed Jun 22, 2011 12:54 pm

discless wrote:Yes, indeed, I mis-spoke...

Let me restate the question:

How do I modify the AppleTV(2) preset so that it always limits the resolution to a max. width of 960 pixels; as does the AppleTV(1) preset. Thank you!
First set a source. From the picture tab set anamorphic to none, check keep aspect ratio, and put 960 in the width field. Now save the preset.

User avatar
Rodeo
HandBrake Team
Posts: 12262
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 8:55 pm

Re: AppleTV 2nd generation but turn off CABAC

Post by Rodeo » Wed Jun 22, 2011 2:01 pm

Tree Dude wrote:First set a source. From the picture tab set anamorphic to none, check keep aspect ratio, and put 960 in the width field. Now save the preset.
That's not how the AppleTV preset does it. The AppleTV preset uses anamorphic Loose.

In order to replicate the AppleTV preset's width limit:

1) set anamorphic to Loose in the picture settings window (if it's not already)

2) create a new preset (the width set in the picture tab is irrelevant)

3) in the save preset dialog, set "Use picture size" to custom, then set width to 960 and height to 0*

4) save the preset

* 0 means that no limit is imposed on height; if you want to limit the height as well, set the height to the desired value

discless
Regular User
Posts: 128
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2008 4:47 am

setting maximum resolution

Post by discless » Wed Jun 22, 2011 4:51 pm

So Kewl!

THANKS!

discless
Regular User
Posts: 128
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2008 4:47 am

Re: Playing Max quality file on AppleTV 2 and modified Apple

Post by discless » Wed Jun 22, 2011 6:13 pm

discless wrote:My aim is to transcode the HD output of the HD-PVR so as to obtain the maximum quality afforded by the AppleTV 2 setting, while being able to continue to play the same file on [the] AppleTV Classic.
Philosophical question; no need to reply if too busy!

Curious -- after going through all of this effort, does this new Preset actually provide any better quality than using the default AppleTV (1) setting on original 1280x720 files for playback on both versions of the AppleTV?

Given that you are always improving Handbrake, I suspect that it is:

AppleTV2 setting

1. Turn off CABAC

2. Turn off B-Frames

3. With Loose Anamorphic, adjust the "Use picture size" to 960x0 in a New Preset.

Thanks, as always...

User avatar
Rodeo
HandBrake Team
Posts: 12262
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 8:55 pm

Re: AppleTV 2nd generation but turn off CABAC

Post by Rodeo » Wed Jun 22, 2011 6:22 pm

The preset you described is not compatible with the unmodified original AppleTV.

discless
Regular User
Posts: 128
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2008 4:47 am

Re: AppleTV 2nd generation but turn off CABAC

Post by discless » Wed Jun 22, 2011 9:15 pm

Rodeo wrote:The preset you described is not compatible with the unmodified original AppleTV.
Yet, these videos are synced by iTunes and play on the unmodified original AppleTV.

Maybe this modification to the AppleTV2 setting is an undocumented boost to the quality of files that can play on the original AppleTV.

What settings do you think need to be altered...?

User avatar
Rodeo
HandBrake Team
Posts: 12262
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 8:55 pm

Re: AppleTV 2nd generation but turn off CABAC

Post by Rodeo » Wed Jun 22, 2011 9:26 pm

discless wrote:
Rodeo wrote:The preset you described is not compatible with the unmodified original AppleTV.
Yet, these videos are synced by iTunes and play on the unmodified original AppleTV.
We don't need more of your [Censored]. Your AppleTV is modified, you said so yourself:
discless wrote:I own two AppleTVs: A 2nd Generation and a 1st Generation "modified" to include:

a) AFP, so that I can move files directly to the AppleTV Classic's hard disk;

b) ATVFiles - so that I can play these files; and

c) Perian, so that its Quicktime will play an extended range of transcoded files.
weightp will cause severe visual artifacts during playback; it's enabled in the AppleTV 2 preset and isn't disabled by the modifications you outlined.

Of course this doesn't happen for you since you're using a third-party software H.264 decoder (part of Perian) on your modified AppleTV.

Enough is enough; I've had it with you. Locking.
Last edited by Rodeo on Wed Jun 22, 2011 9:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Fix boneheaded statement; disabling b-frames does disable b-pyramid

Locked