iPhone & iPod Touch preset broken in 0.9.4?

Discuss encoding for devices and presets.
Forum rules
An Activity Log is required for support requests. Please read How-to get an activity log? for details on how and why this should be provided.
Post Reply
svoboda77
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 10:09 am

iPhone & iPod Touch preset broken in 0.9.4?

Post by svoboda77 »

Video encoded with HandBrakeCLI 0.9.4 64bit on Mac OS X 10.6.2 with "iPhone & Ipod Touch" preset

Code: Select all

 ./HandBrakeCLI -i DVD -o ~/Movies/movie.mp4  -e x264 -q 0.589999973773956 -a 1 -E faac -B 128 -R 48 -6 dpl2 -f mp4 -X 480 -m -x level=30:cabac=0:ref=2:mixed-refs:analyse=all:me=umh:no-fast-pskip=1
cannot be synced to iPhone because of incompatible format.

Image

The same video encoded by HandBrakeCLI 0.9.3 with the same options can sync to iPhone just fine. Do I need to use different settings in 0.9.4? I took the command line options from http://trac.handbrake.fr/wiki/BuiltInPresets#iphone - is it updated for 0.9.4?
User avatar
Rodeo
HandBrake Team
Posts: 12679
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 8:55 pm

Re: iPhone & iPod Touch preset broken in 0.9.4?

Post by Rodeo »

svoboda77 wrote:The same video encoded by HandBrakeCLI 0.9.3 with the same options can sync to iPhone just fine. Do I need to use different settings in 0.9.4? I took the command line options from http://trac.handbrake.fr/wiki/BuiltInPresets#iphone - is it updated for 0.9.4?
No, the article isn't up to date. Due to changes in x264 defaults, using a 0.9.3-compatible options string in 0.9.4 will not produce the same output.

You can see the new presets' x264 options in the GUI. The new iPhone & iPod touch preset uses the following x264 options:

Code: Select all

cabac=0:ref=2:me=umh:bframes=0:subq=6:8x8dct=0
You can also use preset (built-ins only, not custom) with the CLI. IIRC, this should work:

Code: Select all

./HandBrakeCLI -i DVD -o ~/Movies/movie.mp4  --preset="iPhone & iPod Touch"
Don't forget you can use:

Code: Select all

./HandBrakeCLI --help
and http://trac.handbrake.fr/wiki/CLIGuide (not yet updated for 0.9.4, but many things are still applicable).
svoboda77
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 10:09 am

Re: iPhone & iPod Touch preset broken in 0.9.4?

Post by svoboda77 »

Thank you, I will try it.
jbrjake
Veteran User
Posts: 4805
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2006 1:38 am

Re: iPhone & iPod Touch preset broken in 0.9.4?

Post by jbrjake »

Note that all pages I haven't updated yet are marked as such on the documentation index...
Post Reply