Denoise (HQDN3D) not compatible with Apple TV (1st get)

Discuss encoding for devices and presets.
Forum rules
Activity Log is required for support requests. See Must Read: How To Get Questions Answered on These Forums for details
Post Reply
theboyk
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat May 08, 2010 12:54 pm

Denoise (HQDN3D) not compatible with Apple TV (1st get)

Post by theboyk » Wed Aug 09, 2017 5:10 pm

Wondering if someone could shed some light here.

I have a custom preset I've been using for the first generation Apple TV. Basically, just the Apple 540p30 preset with a modified (smaller) Storage Size (as I only use this for travel, hooked up to a small TV) and Denoise enabled (HQDN3D set to light).

I've noticed that I have random issues with some movies not playing after using this preset. It's not every movie, just random. Been trying to figure out what it is that results in these random movies not being able to play (Apple TV says "not compatible").

So, started over with the Apple 540p30 preset to create the following tests:

• Apple 540p30 preset (no mods) = movie plays fine (1.7GB movie size)
• Apple 540p30 preset (storage size set to 640x360) = movie plays fine (1.2GB movie size)
• Apple 540p30 preset (storage size set to 640x360, Denoise set to HQDN3D light) = movie DOES NOT play (600MB movie size)

What is it about the Denoise set to HQDN3D (light) that causes these movies not to play? The weird part is, it's not every movie. Most of the time it's fine, but I'd say 1-in-5 movies won't play using this setting? As soon as I turn Denoise off, it's fine.

Should Denoise have any affect on whether or not a movie can play back on a device? The only reason I use it is because it usually saves me about half the storage size on the final movie (without it, movies typically come in at ~1GB, with it, ~500MB).

Kinda at a loss here...?

Any advice would be appreciated!

Thanks,
Kristin.

rollin_eng
Veteran User
Posts: 2286
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 11:06 pm

Re: Denoise (HQDN3D) not compatible with Apple TV (1st get)

Post by rollin_eng » Wed Aug 09, 2017 5:14 pm

Could you please post your logs, instructions can be found here:

https://handbrake.fr/docs/en/latest/hel ... y-log.html

mduell
Veteran User
Posts: 5586
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 8:54 pm

Re: Denoise (HQDN3D) not compatible with Apple TV (1st get)

Post by mduell » Wed Aug 09, 2017 5:57 pm

We'd need the encoding logs for the working and not working encodes.

I know, it's a surprise to say we'd need such a thing, we really should put it at the top of every page in bold underlined red text on a pink background or something.

theboyk
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat May 08, 2010 12:54 pm

Re: Denoise (HQDN3D) not compatible with Apple TV (1st get)

Post by theboyk » Wed Aug 09, 2017 6:42 pm

Sorry—my bad! Haven't posted here in ages.

Here's the log for preset KM9. Using this preset works...
https://pastebin.com/Kadf30sj

Here's the log for preset KM10. Using this preset fails ("incompatible video" error on first generation Apple TV)...
https://pastebin.com/VhnaZFvN

The only differences in the presets...

• Video tab > RF changes from 20 (KM9 preset) to 22 (KM10 preset)
• Picture tab > Denoise (HQDN3D - Light) enabled in KM10 preset
• Audio > Only the AAC (Dolby Pro Logic III) stream is included in KM10 preset

Is it one of these three things that's causing the issue?

Thanks again for any help!
k.

User avatar
Rodeo
HandBrake Team
Posts: 11636
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 8:55 pm

Re: Denoise (HQDN3D) not compatible with Apple TV (1st get)

Post by Rodeo » Wed Aug 09, 2017 7:56 pm

Have you tried renaming "THE.VIDEO.KM10.mp4" to "THE.VIDEO.KM10.m4v"?

theboyk
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat May 08, 2010 12:54 pm

Re: Denoise (HQDN3D) not compatible with Apple TV (1st get)

Post by theboyk » Wed Aug 09, 2017 8:19 pm

No, but I will as soon as I get home and give it a test. To be honest, I didn't look at the file extensions as a possible reason. Just doing some quick tests, it looks like if the preset outputs two audio streams (AAC and AC3 in my case), it's M4V, but MP4 when there's a single audio stream (AAC).
Thanks!
k.

Woodstock
Veteran User
Posts: 2052
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2013 6:39 am

Re: Denoise (HQDN3D) not compatible with Apple TV (1st get)

Post by Woodstock » Thu Aug 10, 2017 12:15 am

Apple's software disables support for a LOT of options if the extension is not "m4v".

theboyk
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat May 08, 2010 12:54 pm

Re: Denoise (HQDN3D) not compatible with Apple TV (1st get)

Post by theboyk » Thu Aug 10, 2017 1:02 pm

Well, changing the extension did the trick. F me.
I checked my library and a good 50% of the files in there have the MP4 extension (all which I've confirmed are playable), so I wonder what it is about these random files that the old Apple TV doesn't like? Either way, changing the extension to M4V was all that was needed (went back to earlier HB encodes that wouldn't play and just changed the extension as a further test), just I've just set HB to always use the M4V extension, ran a few more test encodes, and they all played. So, looks like that was the problem.
Thanks so much for the help!
k.

User avatar
Rodeo
HandBrake Team
Posts: 11636
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 8:55 pm

Re: Denoise (HQDN3D) not compatible with Apple TV (1st get)

Post by Rodeo » Thu Aug 10, 2017 1:10 pm

Yeah, Apple sometimes does weird stuff.

mduell
Veteran User
Posts: 5586
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 8:54 pm

Re: Denoise (HQDN3D) not compatible with Apple TV (1st get)

Post by mduell » Thu Aug 10, 2017 3:32 pm

I thought Apple only required .m4v if you had AC3 audio, text subs, or chapters... none of which you have.

User avatar
Rodeo
HandBrake Team
Posts: 11636
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 8:55 pm

Re: Denoise (HQDN3D) not compatible with Apple TV (1st get)

Post by Rodeo » Thu Aug 10, 2017 6:02 pm

Thought so too, but you never know with Apple.

Post Reply