Page 1 of 1

Job Queue with Pauses

Posted: Mon Mar 01, 2021 12:43 pm
by minoush82
Hello,

I would like to batch process a number of videos such that there is a fixed pause (e.g. 2 minutes) between a job and the next. What is a good way I can I achieve this? The main reason is to avoid raising my CPU temperature too much.

Thanks.

Re: Job Queue with Pauses

Posted: Mon Mar 01, 2021 12:54 pm
by rollin_eng
You could do this with the CLI.

Re: Job Queue with Pauses

Posted: Mon Mar 01, 2021 2:22 pm
by Woodstock
As suggested, you can insert sleep commands (Linux, Mac, BSD) between each line of your script.

But you should take care of your cooling issues, because the pauses won't stop any overheating on long encodes. If the temps stay below 70c, you should be fine anyway. Newer CPUs tolerate up to 90c without issue, but a lot of motherboards will slow down (or turn off) above 85c.

Re: Job Queue with Pauses

Posted: Wed Mar 03, 2021 1:15 pm
by minoush82
Thank you.

@Woodstock: I was hoping I missed a option in the GUI that allows me to insert breaks. I guess calling HB in a script is the way to go. Also thanks for the warning; so far, the combination of my processing parameters and input characteristics do not put much stress on the CPU.

@rolling_eng: Does HB CLI allow me to pass an argument to specify the pauses? Or do you mean I use HB CLI from within a script?

Re: Job Queue with Pauses

Posted: Wed Mar 03, 2021 1:39 pm
by rollin_eng
No, it will need to be done from within a script.

Re: Job Queue with Pauses

Posted: Wed Mar 03, 2021 5:12 pm
by s55
minoush82, setting a pause won't help with cooling problems. A fully loaded CPU will saturate, sometimes within second, if not a low number of minutes on marginal cooling so the pauses are indifferent. Going though heat and cool cycles may actually be worse for the processor as your putting a different kind of thermal stress on it.

That said, it's rare to see failures as thermal protection should kick in long before failure.

So ultimately, fixing cooling is the only solution here.

Re: Job Queue with Pauses

Posted: Mon Mar 08, 2021 8:07 am
by minoush82
Thanks everyone for the insightful comments :-)