Exact Dimensions

General questions or discussion about HandBrake, Video and/or audio transcoding, trends etc.
Post Reply
Another Mike
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2021 2:57 pm

Exact Dimensions

Post by Another Mike »

Hello,

Could I ask if HandBrake can output files with precise dimensions.
I have a batch of files which are essentially 4:3 however most are slightly narrower or wider than a perfect 4:3.
I can't seem to set to output at say exactly 1440x1080, whatever the source file was.

Many thanks.

Mike.
musicvid
Veteran User
Posts: 3922
Joined: Sat Jun 27, 2009 1:19 am

Re: Exact Dimensions

Post by musicvid »

If your source files are 1440x1080, just set all cropping to 0.
Another Mike
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2021 2:57 pm

Re: Exact Dimensions

Post by Another Mike »

Thanks for the reply.
All my files to start with are not 1440x1080.
They are a mixture dimensions near to that.
I need them to come out all 1440x1080 no matter how they went in.
Many thanks.
Woodstock
Veteran User
Posts: 4028
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2013 6:39 am

Re: Exact Dimensions

Post by Woodstock »

If you're using the GUI, you can't get handbrake to INCREASE the size to 1440x1080 if the input is smaller. You'd need to use the command line interface to get everything to scale to that exact size.
mduell
Veteran User
Posts: 7374
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 8:54 pm

Re: Exact Dimensions

Post by mduell »

The activity log would answer a lot of questions we're not going to repeat over and over.
Another Mike
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2021 2:57 pm

Re: Exact Dimensions

Post by Another Mike »

Thanks Woodstock
Post Reply