Forced Subtitles not showing in the video

General questions or discussion about HandBrake, Video and/or audio transcoding, trends etc.
Post Reply
mtbaz
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2015 4:43 pm

Forced Subtitles not showing in the video

Post by mtbaz »

Description of problem or question:
I am having an issue with Forced Subtitles. On the Subtitles tab, I check the "Forced Only" checkbox on the subtitle track that I want to be marked as Forced on the output. (The preset that I use adds all English subtitles to the Subtitles tab.) The resulting video file has the subtitle track that should be forced (track 1 in this case), but when play it (with VLC or Plex) that track does not display any subtitles. There is also a track 2 that was selected for output that contains the full subtitles (dialog, signage, etc.) and that subtitle track that does display correctly.

For testing, I created a second video file with subtitle track 1 not selected as "Forced Only". That video’s subtitle was displays correctly. The problem is that I need that subtitle track to be marked as Forced so that Plex will automatically select it.

I compared the log files for the two video files, and I think I found the reason that the forced subtitle track 1 does not display. In the log (Test Disc-NOT-forced-subtitle1.mkv 11-14-2020 13-12-30.txt) for the non-Forced subtitle track 1 video, there is a line at 446: "sync: first pts subtitle 0x20bd is 1066065", that is missing from Forced subtitle track 1 log (Test Disc-forced-subtitle1.mkv 11-14-2020 13-07-56.txt). Also, at the end logs, there is a list of tracks and the number frames in them (and some other information). For track 5 (subtitle track 1) the number of frames in the forced subtitle log is 0 and in the not forced log it is 36.

This looks like a bug to me, unless I do not understand how "Forced Only" works. I have used marking a subtitle track as forced successfully before, but it has been a couple of years.

Can any tell me what is going wrong? Should I submit a bug report?

Thank you for your support.


Steps to reproduce the problem (If Applicable):
Select an input DVD that has 2 or more English subtitles. In the Summary tab, select "Format" as MKV. In the Subtitle tab, select 2 subtitles and check the "Forced Only" checkbox on the first subtitle.


HandBrake version (e.g., 1.0.0):
HandBrake 1.3.3 (2020061300)


Operating system and version (e.g., Ubuntu 16.04 LTS, macOS 10.13 High Sierra, Windows 10 Creators Update):
Windows 10 Pro (1909)


HandBrake Activity Log ***required*** (see How-to get an activity log)

The following link is to a OneDrive folder. There are 3 log files in it, the 2 named above and a copy of the activity_log after I selected the input but before I started transcoding for the two test video files. https://1drv.ms/u/s!AtMOR-yszQrihOFMxDj ... A?e=lowE98
Woodstock
Veteran User
Posts: 3843
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2013 6:39 am

Re: Forced Subtitles not showing in the video

Post by Woodstock »

You misunderstand what "Forced only" means. It does not set any flags in the output, it ignores any subtitles that are not flagged in the source as "Forced".

Note that subtitle tracks that actually USE the "forced" flag are very rare. More often, an separate track is set up for them.
Woodstock
Veteran User
Posts: 3843
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2013 6:39 am

Re: Forced Subtitles not showing in the video

Post by Woodstock »

Oh, and I should mention that, while the "Default" checkbox does set the default flag in the output, that is not a substitute for the "Forced" flag, as I discovered yesterday. The Forced flag works with more players than Default, but I have over 12,000 files that need it turned on.
mtbaz
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2015 4:43 pm

Re: Forced Subtitles not showing in the video

Post by mtbaz »

The "Default" checkbox is working for me. Plex is showing that the Default subtitle track is a forced track. This is just what I need.

Thank you for your quick replay.

The "Adding subtitles" Documentation (draft, at https://handbrake.fr/docs/en/1.3.0/adva ... itles.html) did not seem to have any of this information.

Thanks again
Woodstock
Veteran User
Posts: 3843
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2013 6:39 am

Re: Forced Subtitles not showing in the video

Post by Woodstock »

Glad it's working for you. I now know that the default flag does NOT work to select a subtitle track in Vimu, but the forced flag does, so I'm going to keep track of Github issue 1860 going forward.
User avatar
Rodeo
HandBrake Team
Posts: 12619
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 8:55 pm

Re: Forced Subtitles not showing in the video

Post by Rodeo »

mtbaz wrote: Mon Nov 16, 2020 12:32 amThe "Default" checkbox is working for me. Plex is showing that the Default subtitle track is a forced track. This is just what I need.
This is technically a bug though :(

https://github.com/HandBrake/HandBrake/ ... -716225720
mtbaz
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2015 4:43 pm

Re: Forced Subtitles not showing in the video

Post by mtbaz »

I hope that whatever is done, that I can still manually select which subtitle track should be marked forced. Most DVD's that I run into, do not have the "Foreign Audio" subtitle track marked as forced.
Post Reply