Can't Get Video's To Embed In Discord After Re-Enoding

General questions or discussion about HandBrake, Video and/or audio transcoding, trends etc.
Post Reply
Light1c3
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2020 8:08 pm

Can't Get Video's To Embed In Discord After Re-Enoding

Post by Light1c3 »

Description of problem or question:

Regardless of export settings, videos don't seem to embed in Discord after being exported from Handbrake


Steps to reproduce the problem (If Applicable):

I've tried multiple different presets, and custom export settings, but none of them embed in a Discord chat when uploaded. The original files from OBS does embed correctly, so I'm not sure what's going on.

I've tried the General Presets, Discord Presets, and Web Presets. Sadly, none of them worked.
I changed it to .kmv and .mp4, but that didn't change anything. Nor did changing the codec; I tried H.264, VP8/9, Nvidia NVEnc. None of these worked for embeds :-(


HandBrake version (e.g., 1.0.0):

1.3.3 (2020061300)


Operating system and version (e.g., Ubuntu 16.04 LTS, macOS 10.13 High Sierra, Windows 10 Creators Update):

Windows 10 Version 10.0.18363 Build 18363


HandBrake Activity Log ***required*** (see How-to get an activity log)

https://pastebin.com/Kte52zWm
User avatar
Rodeo
HandBrake Team
Posts: 12604
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 8:55 pm

Re: Can't Get Video's To Embed In Discord After Re-Enoding

Post by Rodeo »

IIRC, Discord cannot embed VP9-encoded videos.
Light1c3
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2020 8:08 pm

Re: Can't Get Video's To Embed In Discord After Re-Enoding

Post by Light1c3 »

Rodeo wrote: Thu Sep 17, 2020 11:07 pm IIRC, Discord cannot embed VP9-encoded videos.
I tried other ones as well. It couldn't embed anything Handbrake exported :(

Can handbrake not transcode something that Discord supports?
User avatar
Rodeo
HandBrake Team
Posts: 12604
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 8:55 pm

Re: Can't Get Video's To Embed In Discord After Re-Enoding

Post by Rodeo »

H.264+AAC in MP4 should work, did you try that? Can you post the corresponding log please :)
Light1c3
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2020 8:08 pm

Re: Can't Get Video's To Embed In Discord After Re-Enoding

Post by Light1c3 »

Rodeo wrote: Fri Sep 18, 2020 12:54 am H.264+AAC in MP4 should work, did you try that? Can you post the corresponding log please :)
I have tried that. Here is the log - https://pastebin.pl/view/1397c882

Still not working. What else can it be?
Sigward003
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Sep 15, 2020 5:49 am

Re: Can't Get Video's To Embed In Discord After Re-Enoding

Post by Sigward003 »

One thing I have heard that Discord limited the video files size up to 8MB. The maximum size of an uploaded video could be 50MB after premium service are purchased.

No idea how big your file size it is, just to mention.
Light1c3
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2020 8:08 pm

Re: Can't Get Video's To Embed In Discord After Re-Enoding

Post by Light1c3 »

This has nothing to do with file sizes. I have nitro, and the original video is 65MB. It uploads fine and is embedded. The Handbrake file is 34MB and it doesn't embed.

This is a little frustrating :( What else could it be?
rollin_eng
Veteran User
Posts: 3558
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 11:06 pm

Re: Can't Get Video's To Embed In Discord After Re-Enoding

Post by rollin_eng »

Try passing your audio through and rename your output to mp4 extension.
Light1c3
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2020 8:08 pm

Re: Can't Get Video's To Embed In Discord After Re-Enoding

Post by Light1c3 »

rollin_eng wrote: Fri Sep 18, 2020 6:25 pm Try passing your audio through and rename your output to mp4 extension.
I thought I was passing the audio through. Could you explain what this means? I'll give the MP4 a shot
Light1c3
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2020 8:08 pm

Re: Can't Get Video's To Embed In Discord After Re-Enoding

Post by Light1c3 »

rollin_eng wrote: Fri Sep 18, 2020 6:25 pm Try passing your audio through and rename your output to mp4 extension.
Hey, the MP4 worked... Not sure why MKV doesn't, cause the original file that can be embedded is MKV. Can I save export presets somehow so I can have a discord one? Also, side note, why is the existing Discord preset not already embedded?!
rollin_eng
Veteran User
Posts: 3558
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 11:06 pm

Re: Can't Get Video's To Embed In Discord After Re-Enoding

Post by rollin_eng »

Your source files are mp4.
Light1c3
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2020 8:08 pm

Re: Can't Get Video's To Embed In Discord After Re-Enoding

Post by Light1c3 »

Is there a way to have the output file always max out the quality up to a certain file size?

So Discord only allowed a maximum file size of 100MB. It would be very helpful, if I can drop a file in, and have handbrake get the best quality possible with that 100MB regardless of the input file size itself. Can I limit the output file size somehow? I know I can do Avg Bitrate and calculate it, but is there a way to tell Handbrake, don't make the file larger than X, and have it do the math for me?
Light1c3
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2020 8:08 pm

Re: Can't Get Video's To Embed In Discord After Re-Enoding

Post by Light1c3 »

Why doesn't my handbrake have this - https://i.imgur.com/6MNl5eh.png
rollin_eng
Veteran User
Posts: 3558
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 11:06 pm

Re: Can't Get Video's To Embed In Discord After Re-Enoding

Post by rollin_eng »

Light1c3 wrote: Mon Sep 28, 2020 3:49 am I know I can do Avg Bitrate and calculate it, but is there a way to tell Handbrake, don't make the file larger than X, and have it do the math for me?
Not with HB.
Post Reply