What audio settings for Blu Ray1080P movies?

General questions or discussion about HandBrake, Video and/or audio transcoding, trends etc.
MrElussive

What audio settings for Blu Ray1080P movies?

Post by MrElussive »

Hello,
I am brand new to Handbrake. I am ripping my Blu Rays using MKV and then I open the source file in Handbrake. I basically just use 'SuperHQ 1080P30 Surround' preset, but I modify the Video Codec to be H.264 (nVidia NVEnc) as I have a Quadro P400 and that does the job much faster than CPU encoding.
As far as Audio Quality, I see this preset has two audio tracks. The first one is English (DTS-HD MA) (5.1 ch) for most movies (7.1 channels for some movies).. That uses AAC avcodec at Bitrate 160 Mixdown Stereo. I am assuming that is for playability with iPad or iPhone, headphones, etc.?
The other audio track is same source, but codec says AC3, Bitrate 640 Mixdown 5.1 channels. Is this what I want for watching on a home theater? What about the Mixdown option for Dolby Surround or Pro Logic II instead? Also, if the movie does have 7.1 channels available as source, I noticed that it still does a mixdown to 5.1 channels. What should I selecting here? Our basement home theater has 7.1 speakers so why would I want to go to 5.1 channels? And why wouldn't the best mix-down be Dolby Surround or Pro Logic II?? I am all ears.
Thanks, Mr.E
mduell
Veteran User

Re: What audio settings for Blu Ray1080P movies?

Post by mduell »

What does your playback device support?
MrElussive

Post by MrElussive »

Yamaha Receiver supports Dolby Atmos, DTS-X, Dolby TrueHD, DTS-HD Master Audio.
I would use Plex app via Vizio 4K TV Smartcast app.
MrElussive

Post by MrElussive »

But more than one setup. For example, in my bedroom I have a Samsung 55" LED 1080P TV and a Roku Ultra connected to a older Bose Lifestyle 235 2.1 channel system. I am guessing that would use the 2.0 channel stereo track and the Bose system would just add bass to the sub-woofer as it sees fit.
Woodstock