Can Handbrake preserve/pass through HDR info in 4K video?

General questions or discussion about HandBrake, Video and/or audio transcoding, trends etc.
Post Reply
ChrisJenkins
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun May 29, 2011 7:19 pm

Can Handbrake preserve/pass through HDR info in 4K video?

Post by ChrisJenkins »

Description of problem or question:

If I have a 4K MKV file encoded with HDR and I want to convert this to an MP4 file (M4V file) using Handbrake, can it preserve the HDR aspect of the encoding? If so, will it do so by default or do I have to add any special options?



Steps to reproduce the problem (If Applicable):




HandBrake version (e.g., 1.0.0):

1.3.3



Operating system and version (e.g., Ubuntu 16.04 LTS, macOS 10.13 High Sierra, Windows 10 Creators Update):

macOS 10.15.5


HandBrake Activity Log ***required*** (see How-to get an activity log)

Code: Select all

Please replace this text with the contents of your log file between the two code tags - OR -  provide a pastebin URL in place of these 3 lines.
If you are unable to do so, please state why so we can help you.

Woodstock
Veteran User
Posts: 3614
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2013 6:39 am

Re: Can Handbrake preserve/pass through HDR info in 4K video?

Post by Woodstock »

Short answer: No.

Longer answer: handbrake currently does not have an HDR-capable "pipeline" to do this.

mduell
Veteran User
Posts: 7106
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 8:54 pm

Re: Can Handbrake preserve/pass through HDR info in 4K video?

Post by mduell »

HB will preserve neither the HDR nor the 10-bit.

HB is a 8-bit SDR app living in a 10-bit HDR world.

Post Reply