downmix to dolby 5.1

General questions or discussion about HandBrake, Video and/or audio transcoding, trends etc.
Post Reply
rcrh
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2009 1:49 am

downmix to dolby 5.1

Post by rcrh »

Description of problem or question:
my audio system doesn't handle DTS so I downmix my audio to Dolby Digital 5.1. If I have a choice of DTS7.1 HD-MA or DTS5.1 should I start with the master audio and let handbrake drop the two extra channels?

Steps to reproduce the problem (If Applicable):
n/a

HandBrake version (e.g., 1.0.0):
1.2.2

Operating system and version (e.g., Ubuntu 16.04 LTS, macOS 10.13 High Sierra, Windows 10 Creators Update):
Windows 10 Creators Update

HandBrake Activity Log ***required*** (see How-to get an activity log)
n/a

I've been using the MA-HD audio even though it has extra tracks.
Thanks for any guidance anyone has.

Code: Select all

Please replace this text with the contents of your log file between the two code tags - OR -  provide a pastebin URL in place of these 3 lines.
Woodstock
Veteran User
Posts: 3931
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2013 6:39 am

Re: downmix to dolby 5.1

Post by Woodstock »

Doesn't really matter - the source is the lossy core of the DTS HD-MA either way.
User avatar
Rodeo
HandBrake Team
Posts: 12677
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 8:55 pm

Re: downmix to dolby 5.1

Post by Rodeo »

Woodstock wrote: Thu Oct 31, 2019 12:59 pm Doesn't really matter - the source is the lossy core of the DTS HD-MA either way.
The nightly build can decode the HD extensions, however.
Post Reply