AMD VCE / GPU Clock speed during encoding

General questions or discussion about HandBrake, Video and/or audio transcoding, trends etc.
Post Reply
purduephotog
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2019 3:58 am

AMD VCE / GPU Clock speed during encoding

Post by purduephotog » Mon Jun 24, 2019 4:02 am

AMD Radeon 56- during encoding only memory clock shows activity




Not a problem. During Hardware (AMD VCE / H.265 the memory clock ramps up to 800mhz, but the GPU clock sits idle at 38mhz.




1.2.2




Windows 10

It's really not a 'problem' I just don't know what's 'standard' for this software during encoding.


HandBrake Activity Log ***required*** (see How-to get an activity log)

Code: Select all

Please replace this text with the contents of your log file between the two code tags - OR -  provide a pastebin URL in place of these 3 lines.

rollin_eng
Veteran User
Posts: 3189
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 11:06 pm

Re: AMD VCE / GPU Clock speed during encoding

Post by rollin_eng » Mon Jun 24, 2019 7:31 am

Could you please post your HB logs, instructions can be found here:

https://handbrake.fr/docs/en/latest/hel ... y-log.html

User avatar
BradleyS
Moderator
Posts: 1729
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2007 12:16 pm

Re: AMD VCE / GPU Clock speed during encoding

Post by BradleyS » Mon Jun 24, 2019 10:47 am

VCE is a separate ASIC chip on your graphics card. The GPU processor is not used directly.

purduephotog
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2019 3:58 am

Re: AMD VCE / GPU Clock speed during encoding

Post by purduephotog » Fri Jul 05, 2019 12:03 am

BradleyS wrote:
Mon Jun 24, 2019 10:47 am
VCE is a separate ASIC chip on your graphics card. The GPU processor is not used directly.
Oh. Sigh. So all that beautiful floating point isn't used. OK... explains why the heat load was low.

Thank you. I guess I've gotta go Intel :(

User avatar
BradleyS
Moderator
Posts: 1729
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2007 12:16 pm

Re: AMD VCE / GPU Clock speed during encoding

Post by BradleyS » Fri Jul 05, 2019 12:31 am

Intel QSV is also an ASIC. ;)

User avatar
Rodeo
HandBrake Team
Posts: 12272
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 8:55 pm

Re: AMD VCE / GPU Clock speed during encoding

Post by Rodeo » Fri Jul 05, 2019 2:22 am

Video encoding is not parallel enough to be worth encoding on the GPU itself. GPU encoders (implemented in CUDA etc. and running on the GPU itself) are a thing of the past, the tradeoffs they made to achieve the encoding speed people expected had a significant negative effect on compression efficiency (not to mention it would impact graphical performance of other apps while encoding).

Modern hardware-accelerated encoders may not be the most efficient out there (in terms of compression) but are still significantly better than the old generation.

Post Reply