Lost Custom Presets on update

General questions or discussion about HandBrake, Video and/or audio transcoding, trends etc.
Post Reply
tissman
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2019 1:40 am

Lost Custom Presets on update

Post by tissman » Thu Apr 18, 2019 1:53 am

I recently loaded 1.2.2 (2019022300). Now when opening I do not have the custom presets I had for many prior versions! I also noticed my filepath to save encodes was blank and I had to remap it. Looks like all my preferences got lost or something.

Steps to reproduce the problem: Open program

Version 1.2.2 (2019022300)

Operating system and version Windows 7 premium

I just loaded the software, selected a movie to rip, and closed the software for the log below.

] HandBrake Activity Log ***required*** [/b] (see How-to get an activity log)

Code: Select all

Cannot load nvEncodeAPI64.dll
[19:51:07] hb_init: starting libhb thread

 # Starting Scan ...

[19:51:07] CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-2600 CPU @ 3.40GHz
[19:51:07]  - Intel microarchitecture Sandy Bridge
[19:51:07]  - logical processor count: 8
[19:51:07] Intel Quick Sync Video support: no
[19:51:07] hb_scan: path=D:\5 DVD RIPS\The Mule, title_index=0
src/libbluray/disc/disc.c:424: error opening file BDMV\index.bdmv
src/libbluray/disc/disc.c:424: error opening file BDMV\BACKUP\index.bdmv
[19:51:07] bd: not a bd - trying as a stream/file instead
libdvdnav: Using dvdnav version 6.0.0
libdvdread: Encrypted DVD support unavailable.
libdvdread: Can't open D:\5 DVD RIPS\The Mule for reading
libdvdread: Device D:\5 DVD RIPS\The Mule inaccessible, CSS authentication not available.
libdvdnav: Unable to open device file D:\5 DVD RIPS\The Mule.
libdvdnav: vm: dvd_read_name failed
libdvdnav: DVD disk reports itself with Region mask 0x00000000. Regions: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
libdvdread: Encrypted DVD support unavailable.
libdvdread: Can't open D:\5 DVD RIPS\The Mule for reading
libdvdread: Device D:\5 DVD RIPS\The Mule inaccessible, CSS authentication not available.
[19:51:07] scan: DVD has 1 title(s)
[19:51:07] scan: scanning title 1
[19:51:07] scan: opening IFO for VTS 1
[19:51:07] scan: duration is 01:56:20 (6980667 ms)
[19:51:07] pgc_id: 1, pgn: 1: pgc: 000000001D060040
[19:51:07] scan: vts=1, ttn=1, cells=0->16, blocks=0->2160414, 2160415 blocks
[19:51:07] scan: checking audio 1
[19:51:07] scan: id=0x80bd, lang=English (AC3), 3cc=eng ext=0
[19:51:07] scan: checking subtitle 1
[19:51:07] scan: id=0x20bd, lang=English (Wide Screen) [VOBSUB], 3cc=eng ext=1
[19:51:07] scan: id=0x21bd, lang=English (Letterbox) [VOBSUB], 3cc=eng ext=1
[19:51:07] scan: title 1 has 16 chapters
[19:51:07] scan: chap 1 c=0->0, b=0->120860 (120861), 405500 ms
[19:51:07] scan: chap 2 c=1->1, b=120861->287168 (166308), 521500 ms
[19:51:07] scan: chap 3 c=2->2, b=287169->433453 (146285), 475834 ms
[19:51:07] scan: chap 4 c=3->3, b=433454->604645 (171192), 537834 ms
[19:51:07] scan: chap 5 c=4->4, b=604646->754995 (150350), 486834 ms
[19:51:07] scan: chap 6 c=5->5, b=754996->900553 (145558), 470166 ms
[19:51:07] scan: chap 7 c=6->6, b=900554->1074940 (174387), 574200 ms
[19:51:07] scan: chap 8 c=7->8, b=1074941->1247466 (172526), 561501 ms
[19:51:07] scan: chap 9 c=9->9, b=1247467->1418968 (171502), 539467 ms
[19:51:07] scan: chap 10 c=10->10, b=1418969->1549740 (130772), 421000 ms
[19:51:07] scan: chap 11 c=11->11, b=1549741->1731676 (181936), 540834 ms
[19:51:07] scan: chap 12 c=12->12, b=1731677->1864543 (132867), 412333 ms
[19:51:07] scan: chap 13 c=13->13, b=1864544->1994095 (129552), 424200 ms
[19:51:07] scan: chap 14 c=14->14, b=1994096->2042670 (48575), 154800 ms
[19:51:07] scan: chap 15 c=15->15, b=2042671->2160396 (117726), 454200 ms
[19:51:07] scan: chap 16 c=16->16, b=2160397->2160414 (18), 467 ms
[19:51:07] scan: aspect = 16:9
libdvdnav: DVD disk reports itself with Region mask 0x00000000. Regions: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
dvdnav: Can not set dvd menu, No such menu or menu not reachable.
[19:51:07] scan: decoding previews for title 1
libdvdnav: DVD disk reports itself with Region mask 0x00000000. Regions: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
[19:51:07] scan: title angle(s) 1
[ac3 @ 000000001d095e00] frame sync error
[ac3 @ 000000001d095980] frame sync error
[19:51:07] scan: audio 0x80bd: ac3, rate=48000Hz, bitrate=384000 English (AC3) (5.1 ch)
[19:51:07] scan: 10 previews, 720x480, 23.976 fps, autocrop = 58/62/0/0, aspect 16:9, PAR 32:27
[19:51:07] libhb: scan thread found 1 valid title(s)

 # Processing Scan Information ...

 # Scan Finished ...


tissman
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2019 1:40 am

Re: Lost Custom Presets on update

Post by tissman » Thu May 09, 2019 11:04 pm

Anyone have any help for me on this?

mduell
Veteran User
Posts: 6589
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 8:54 pm

Re: Lost Custom Presets on update

Post by mduell » Thu May 09, 2019 11:46 pm

They're not generally compatible across versions, so recreate whatever you want in the new version.

User avatar
JohnAStebbins
HandBrake Team
Posts: 5420
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 7:21 pm

Re: Lost Custom Presets on update

Post by JohnAStebbins » Fri May 10, 2019 1:36 pm

What version were you upgrading from? We have been making an effort in the last few versions to import and upgrade custom presets when the new version is run for the first time. If this failed, it would be helpful to know the circumstances under which it failed.

I believe the windows GUI creates a backup of previous preset files when a new update is installed. But I don't know where it puts them. Hopefully the windows developer will chime in. If you could find and post that we can do more diagnosis.

User avatar
s55
HandBrake Team
Posts: 9501
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2006 1:05 pm

Re: Lost Custom Presets on update

Post by s55 » Fri May 10, 2019 6:39 pm

Windows doesn't support preset upgrades and will usually leave a copy of the old presets in the C:\Users\%appdata%\AppData\Roaming\HandBrake if it can.

So, you can recover into the old version, but not use with a new version.

User avatar
JohnAStebbins
HandBrake Team
Posts: 5420
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 7:21 pm

Re: Lost Custom Presets on update

Post by JohnAStebbins » Fri May 10, 2019 7:43 pm

s55 wrote:
Fri May 10, 2019 6:39 pm
Windows doesn't support preset upgrades and will usually leave a copy of the old presets in the C:\Users\%appdata%\AppData\Roaming\HandBrake if it can.

So, you can recover into the old version, but not use with a new version.
Oh, my mistake. I thought the newer windows versions were supporting this.

Post Reply