Legacy Presets Missing from v1.2.1

General questions or discussion about HandBrake, Video and/or audio transcoding, trends etc.
Post Reply
KeyserSoze
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2019 3:16 pm

Legacy Presets Missing from v1.2.1

Post by KeyserSoze » Tue Feb 19, 2019 3:23 pm

Hi Guys,
I just upgraded from v1.1.2 to v1.2.1 and all of my Legacy Presets are gone and I still use the iPad preset. So my question is how do I get it back or which preset should I be using for my iPad?

Any Help Would Be Greatly Appreciated,

Woodstock
Veteran User
Posts: 3154
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2013 6:39 am

Re: Legacy Presets Missing from v1.2.1

Post by Woodstock » Tue Feb 19, 2019 11:23 pm

Under "Devices", you will find several Apple presets. Chose the one that matches your iPad's maximum resolution.

cherryman
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2019 9:15 am

Re: Legacy Presets Missing from v1.2.1

Post by cherryman » Wed Mar 20, 2019 9:20 am

Hello,

I am new to the community but I am using handbrake quite a long time.

I too noticed that on the recent versions of Handbrake that the legacy presets are missing.

I tried the Devices -> Apple 720p/30fps preset for a 1st Gen iPad but I noticed that the final filesize is quite larger than the previous legacy preset, where a file would be around 1.20 to 2GB, now it produces a file larger than 4GB.

Is there something that I can do to the existing new preset to decrease the filesize?

Thanks.

User avatar
BradleyS
Moderator
Posts: 1587
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2007 12:16 pm

Re: Legacy Presets Missing from v1.2.1

Post by BradleyS » Wed Mar 20, 2019 9:58 am

See the Adjusting quality article: https://handbrake.fr/docs/en/1.2.0/work ... ality.html

You can also use the Apple 540p30 Surround preset which I believe is the resolution of the old iPad preset.

cherryman
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2019 9:15 am

Re: Legacy Presets Missing from v1.2.1

Post by cherryman » Wed Mar 20, 2019 10:22 pm

Thanks, this seems to be closer to what I expected.

jlpaq
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Apr 26, 2019 5:45 pm

Re: Legacy Presets Missing from v1.2.1

Post by jlpaq » Fri Apr 26, 2019 5:48 pm

Hi, I'm noticing the same issue... The Legacy iPad Preset was in the ~1.2GB range, but even the 540p30 preset is still more more than double the file size, upwards of 3GB. Following https://handbrake.fr/docs/en/1.2.0/work ... ality.html the main adjustment is just RF, which defaults to 20, and bumping up to 21... But were there other differences in the Legacy iPad preset? Does anyone have it handy they can post for Import?

mduell
Veteran User
Posts: 6589
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 8:54 pm

Re: Legacy Presets Missing from v1.2.1

Post by mduell » Fri Apr 26, 2019 6:44 pm

Pastebin both encoding logs for the same movie and we'll be happy to point out the differences.

Post Reply