Handbrake AAC vs AC3 (2.0 ONLY)

General questions or discussion about HandBrake, Video and/or audio transcoding, trends etc.
Post Reply
jlw4049
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2019 11:08 pm

Handbrake AAC vs AC3 (2.0 ONLY)

Post by jlw4049 » Tue Jan 08, 2019 12:04 am

Just curious what the best options for encoding a DTS-HD 2.0 to? It's an older animation and I don't feel like keeping such a large audio file.

I am getting mixed answers reading all over the web. Some say Handbrakes AAC isn't that great, others say it's a lot better then AC3, and I just want to try to clear it up.

mduell
Veteran User
Posts: 6279
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 8:54 pm

Re: Handbrake AAC vs AC3 (2.0 ONLY)

Post by mduell » Tue Jan 08, 2019 3:01 am

On the latest release the AAC encoder is less bad, so I'd use that if you don't compile yourself to get fdk-aac which is actually good.

jlw4049
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2019 11:08 pm

Re: Handbrake AAC vs AC3 (2.0 ONLY)

Post by jlw4049 » Mon Jan 14, 2019 5:49 pm

Sorry for the late response, a bunch of stuff going on. How much better is FDK-AAC over AAC? Does it have any compatibility issues with anything? Is it worth compiling?

mduell
Veteran User
Posts: 6279
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 8:54 pm

Re: Handbrake AAC vs AC3 (2.0 ONLY)

Post by mduell » Mon Jan 14, 2019 5:55 pm

Depends on bitrate, more notable at lower bitrates.

FDK-AAC is just a particular AAC encoder. No compatibility issues.

jlw4049
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2019 11:08 pm

Re: Handbrake AAC vs AC3 (2.0 ONLY)

Post by jlw4049 » Mon Jan 14, 2019 6:18 pm

I'm going to *attempt* to compile handbrake on my windows server via ubuntu terminal. I don't really know anything about it, but I'm gonna try.

mduell
Veteran User
Posts: 6279
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 8:54 pm

Re: Handbrake AAC vs AC3 (2.0 ONLY)

Post by mduell » Mon Jan 14, 2019 6:51 pm

It's not very hard to follow the directions.

jlw4049
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2019 11:08 pm

Re: Handbrake AAC vs AC3 (2.0 ONLY)

Post by jlw4049 » Mon Jan 14, 2019 7:24 pm

Yeah i'm currently building the libraries. Taking FOREVER.

jlw4049
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2019 11:08 pm

Re: Handbrake AAC vs AC3 (2.0 ONLY)

Post by jlw4049 » Mon Jan 14, 2019 7:58 pm

Having trouble with this here:


add to your shell startup script (usually .bashrc or .bash_profile):
export PATH="/home/user/toolchains/mingw-w64-5.0-0-gcc-5.4.0/mingw-w64-x86_64/bin:{PATH}"


7. Use your mouse to copy the export PATH= ...etc... (whole line), and paste it into the Terminal. You might have to use the right-mouse context menu to copy/paste. This adds the MinGW compiler into the command search path.

User avatar
BradleyS
Moderator
Posts: 1462
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2007 12:16 pm

Re: Handbrake AAC vs AC3 (2.0 ONLY)

Post by BradleyS » Thu Jan 17, 2019 4:26 am

There is a file in your linux home directory, likely called .bashrc, that sets up certain things when you open a Terminal (it's more complicated than that, but this should suffice for now). So you want to edit the file at ~/.bashrc and add that line at the end. Without it, nothing will find the mingw-w64 toolchain you built to build HandBrake for Windows. Make sure you use whatever mingw-w64-build told you and not what's in the documentation.

Hint: you can do this without even opening a text editor.

echo "whatever" >> ~/.bashrc

Post Reply