UI at 2560x1440

General questions or discussion about HandBrake, Video and/or audio transcoding, trends etc.
Post Reply
wiba
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 12:51 pm

UI at 2560x1440

Post by wiba » Fri Nov 09, 2018 1:18 pm

Description of problem or question:

I have 2560x1440 screen (aspire S7). When I start HandBrake in this resolution I can not see full user interface, top and bottom are outside the screen. I can not scale down to see full interface. When switch to full screan the bottom part is outside the botoom of the screen.. So when I enter preferences I can not see the "back" button... the status bar is also outside visible area.

It is the same at all other 6:9 ratio screans. When I switch to 1920x1080 I have the same. To see the full initerface I must switch to 1920x1200 - then I see all height of the UI but having two black strips on side of the screen..
I did not observed similar behavior with any other aplication I ever used.
HandBrake in previous versions had the same issue at this screen.
I do not have other 2560x1440 screens to check how it is.
At other computers I have with 1920x1080 everythig is OK....

Please suggest where to look and how solve this annoing issue...

I run windows 10, but it was the same with earlier versions of 10 and 8...
Intel HD graphics 4400

Steps to reproduce the problem (If Applicable):




HandBrake version is 1.1.2):




Windows 10 PRO Creators 10.0.17134:




HandBrake Activity Log ***required*** (see How-to get an activity log)

Code: Select all

HandBrake 1.1.2 (2018090500) - 64bit
OS: Microsoft Windows NT 10.0.17134.0 - 64bit
CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4510U CPU @ 2.00GHz
Ram: 8087 MB, 
GPU Information:
  Intel(R) HD Graphics Family - 20.19.15.4835
Screen: 2560x1440
Temp Dir: C:\Users\Witek\AppData\Local\Temp\
Install Dir: C:\Program Files\HandBrake
Data Dir: C:\Users\Witek\AppData\Roaming\HandBrake

-------------------------------------------



musicvid
Veteran User
Posts: 3135
Joined: Sat Jun 27, 2009 1:19 am

Re: UI at 2560x1440

Post by musicvid » Sat Nov 10, 2018 11:31 pm

Go to Accessibility, set your font size at no more than 125%, and see if that makes it better.

wiba
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 12:51 pm

Re: UI at 2560x1440

Post by wiba » Tue Nov 20, 2018 12:03 am

OK, I had it at 225%.... lowered down to 200% and it is enough to get handbrake "within screen borders".
Screen is only 13" so at 125% letters are far to small for my eyes :-)

Big thanks!!

musicvid
Veteran User
Posts: 3135
Joined: Sat Jun 27, 2009 1:19 am

Re: UI at 2560x1440

Post by musicvid » Tue Nov 20, 2018 8:56 pm

. Screen is only 13" so at 125% letters are far to small for my eyes :-)
So, between your screen dimensions, Handbrake gui, and your vision, which is the easiest to fix?

wiba
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 12:51 pm

Re: UI at 2560x1440

Post by wiba » Thu Nov 22, 2018 8:54 pm

The sufficient fix was to set the font size scaling from 225% down to 200%.
I can see handbrake GUI complete both at full screen mode and "windowed".
There is no need to scale fonts below 200%. It is of course possible but fonts are becoming too small to read for my eyes...

200% scaling is also acceptable for the system GUI and other applications, so it is now the setting I use.
That is actually the only fix for the case, as I do not want to use lower resolutions for the screen and will not hook up a bigger size scree to the laptop.

Anyway, your advise was 100% to the point, honestly I would not think about font scaling as the source of my issue.
I set it up to 225% 5 years ago when I got the laptop and never get there to change (only once during upgrade to win 10).

Thanks once more.

musicvid
Veteran User
Posts: 3135
Joined: Sat Jun 27, 2009 1:19 am

Re: UI at 2560x1440

Post by musicvid » Sat Nov 24, 2018 2:50 pm

. The sufficient fix...
Glad you found a workaround; this one keeps popping up, not just with Handbrake. But 4k on a 13" monitor is still just 13".
24" monitors are $49 or even less this weekend; maybe the happy fix isn't to be found in the controls ...

Post Reply