Should I resize my video before Handbrake?

General questions or discussion about HandBrake, Video and/or audio transcoding, trends etc.
Post Reply
brianalex
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2018 4:22 pm

Should I resize my video before Handbrake?

Post by brianalex » Tue Sep 11, 2018 4:37 pm

Description of problem or question:I am doing some video editing with Vegas Pro and making short movies. The end result that I want to achieve is 720p. The original video recordings are 1920p. I have the option to resize during the export with Vegas after editing and wondering if I should be render the video as 1920 or 720? I will be running the exported Vegas video through Handbrake afterwards to minimize the file size. Does it make a difference if Handbrake starts with a large file and goes down to 720, or should I be taking a 720 file through Handbrake to achieve the same 720 end result? Which if any would be the better quality?




Steps to reproduce the problem (If Applicable):




HandBrake version (e.g., 1.0.0):1.1.0




Operating system and version (e.g., Ubuntu 16.04 LTS, macOS 10.13 High Sierra, Windows 10 Creators Update):Windows 10




HandBrake Activity Log ***required*** (see How-to get an activity log)

Code: Select all

Please replace this text with the contents of your log file between the two code tags - OR -  provide a pastebin URL in place of these 3 lines.

musicvid
Veteran User
Posts: 3134
Joined: Sat Jun 27, 2009 1:19 am

Re: Should I resize my video before Handbrake?

Post by musicvid » Thu Sep 13, 2018 12:16 am

With downscaling it makes no appreciable difference. Generally speaking, export source from Vegas and do the work in Handbrake.
XAVC-I is a good export format from Vegas.

mduell
Veteran User
Posts: 6189
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 8:54 pm

Re: Should I resize my video before Handbrake?

Post by mduell » Thu Sep 13, 2018 2:01 am

May as well downsize in Vegas to make the export from Vegas faster, and the decode for HB faster.

rollin_eng
Veteran User
Posts: 2901
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 11:06 pm

Re: Should I resize my video before Handbrake?

Post by rollin_eng » Thu Sep 13, 2018 5:16 pm

Wouldn't it make sense to retain as much information as possible, thus export from Vegas at 1080?

mduell
Veteran User
Posts: 6189
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 8:54 pm

Re: Should I resize my video before Handbrake?

Post by mduell » Thu Sep 13, 2018 5:33 pm

Assuming you're doing some arbitrarily high quality or lossless export from Vegas, no, unless you think HB has a better scaler than Vegas.

rollin_eng
Veteran User
Posts: 2901
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 11:06 pm

Re: Should I resize my video before Handbrake?

Post by rollin_eng » Thu Sep 13, 2018 6:23 pm

As we don’t know anything about the HB settings being used isn’t it best to get the highest quality source possible?

mduell
Veteran User
Posts: 6189
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 8:54 pm

Re: Should I resize my video before Handbrake?

Post by mduell » Thu Sep 13, 2018 8:21 pm

rollin_eng wrote:
Thu Sep 13, 2018 6:23 pm
As we don’t know anything about the HB settings being used isn’t it best to get the highest quality source possible?
As we don't know anything about much at all here, is it worth the extra time of the export & decode or the larger frame size?

Reasonable tradeoffs, not blind optimization.

rollin_eng
Veteran User
Posts: 2901
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 11:06 pm

Re: Should I resize my video before Handbrake?

Post by rollin_eng » Fri Sep 14, 2018 1:01 pm

As the poster is concerned about quality shouldn't that be the optimization?

musicvid
Veteran User
Posts: 3134
Joined: Sat Jun 27, 2009 1:19 am

Re: Should I resize my video before Handbrake?

Post by musicvid » Fri Sep 14, 2018 10:57 pm

The downscaling method employed should not affect quality. Only the downscaling itself.
Upscaling is another kettle of fish.

Post Reply