Creating My Output File

General questions or discussion about HandBrake, Video and/or audio transcoding, trends etc.
Post Reply
hoofhearted4
New User
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2018 3:36 am

Creating My Output File

Post by hoofhearted4 » Sat Jun 30, 2018 3:42 am

I'm sure this has been asked. I searched a little on google and these forums and couldn't find what I wanted.

Is it possible to have Handbrake create a folder that's the name of the movie when it outputs? For example output to M:\Movies\Avengers\Avengers.mp4? I like my movies in folders but I don't see a way for Handbrake to create that folder.

Thanks all!









HandBrake version 1.1.1

Woodstock
Veteran User
Posts: 2824
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2013 6:39 am

Re: Creating My Output File

Post by Woodstock » Sat Jun 30, 2018 2:27 pm

That depends upon whether or not your source file is in an appropriately-named folder. If it is, you can use:

Tools->Preferences->Output Files, Automatic File Naming, and include {source_folder_name} in the default path.

If not, you're stuck with manually adding the folder name to the output path.

Harald
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2013 5:39 pm

Re: Creating My Output File

Post by Harald » Mon Jul 23, 2018 2:02 pm

this isn't working for some years now.
im now on linux and also not working.

would be nice if it was back by preferences--> auto_name_template
like : {source_folder_name}/{source}
where {source_folder_name} = parent folder name of sourcefile

rollin_eng
Veteran User
Posts: 2908
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 11:06 pm

Re: Creating My Output File

Post by rollin_eng » Mon Jul 23, 2018 2:11 pm

I don’t think HB has ever created the folder.

Post Reply