Fast Decode Option - Check if used

General questions or discussion about HandBrake, Video and/or audio transcoding, trends etc.
Post Reply
summoner1
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2018 4:42 pm

Fast Decode Option - Check if used

Post by summoner1 » Sun Jun 03, 2018 4:58 pm

Hi there, I'm analyzing a mkv-file, that I've encoded with HandBrake in h264.
Usually I use the Fast Decode Option.

Especially with this file I'm not sure if it was set.

I've downloaded MediaInfo and tried to check if there's a point in the files Meta if the Fast Decode option was set.

Unfortunately I don't really understand where I could look for this option.

Does anyone know how to check the file and when it's possible with MediaInfo where I have to look for it?

Thanks, Summoner.

mduell
Veteran User
Posts: 6079
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 8:54 pm

Re: Fast Decode Option - Check if used

Post by mduell » Sun Jun 03, 2018 8:03 pm

The fastdecode tune is just a macro for a couple encoder options; you could pick the options without actually choosing the tune, or have picked the tune and then overridden one or more of the options back to the default.

In the encoder options that MediaInfo shows, look for the following (will be formatted a bit differently):
--no-cabac --no-deblock --no-weightb --weightp 0

And of course the information is in your HB log files, but since you posted here which is not for support or help related to HandBrake, we won't discuss that option.

rollin_eng
Veteran User
Posts: 2819
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 11:06 pm

Re: Fast Decode Option - Check if used

Post by rollin_eng » Sun Jun 03, 2018 8:21 pm

Could you please post your logs, instructions can be found here:

https://handbrake.fr/docs/en/latest/hel ... y-log.html

mduell
Veteran User
Posts: 6079
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 8:54 pm

Re: Fast Decode Option - Check if used

Post by mduell » Sun Jun 03, 2018 10:40 pm

rollin_eng wrote:
Sun Jun 03, 2018 8:21 pm
Could you please post your logs, instructions can be found here:

https://handbrake.fr/docs/en/latest/hel ... y-log.html
Wrong forum -- no HB support here.

rollin_eng
Veteran User
Posts: 2819
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 11:06 pm

Re: Fast Decode Option - Check if used

Post by rollin_eng » Mon Jun 04, 2018 10:59 am

mduell wrote:
Sun Jun 03, 2018 10:40 pm
rollin_eng wrote:
Sun Jun 03, 2018 8:21 pm
Could you please post your logs, instructions can be found here:

https://handbrake.fr/docs/en/latest/hel ... y-log.html
Wrong forum -- no HB support here.
Well it’s a good job you’re not a moderator and I don’t have to listen to you.

User avatar
BradleyS
Moderator
Posts: 1331
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2007 12:16 pm

Re: Fast Decode Option - Check if used

Post by BradleyS » Mon Jun 04, 2018 11:45 am

If/when the OP summons a log, we can move this topic to the appropriate subforum.

summoner1
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2018 4:42 pm

Re: Fast Decode Option - Check if used

Post by summoner1 » Mon Jun 04, 2018 11:50 am

Hi everyone,
thanks for your reply, which helped a lot.

As you see in my first post it was just a simple question, there's no need to attach a log-file, because there's nothing to debug.
When this was posted in the wrong forum, pleace accept my appologies.

Best regards, Summoner1

User avatar
BradleyS
Moderator
Posts: 1331
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2007 12:16 pm

Re: Fast Decode Option - Check if used

Post by BradleyS » Mon Jun 04, 2018 11:58 am

Please read why Activity Logs are required for even simple questions https://handbrake.fr/docs/en/1.1.0/help ... y-log.html

Thanks and take care.

Post Reply