Mysterious copy protection from 2006 (?!)

General questions or discussion about HandBrake, Video and/or audio transcoding, trends etc.
aaron2018

Mysterious copy protection from 2006 (?!)

Post by aaron2018 »

Hi,

I am a college professor who teaches an undergraduate media literacy course. At the end of each semester, students undertake a video editing project in which they create a movie trailer that transforms the genre of the source material. They rip a DVD using Handbrake, and then they use this as the basis for their editing project. It is a terrific way of teaching them about video editing, film theory, the role of sound, and genre conventions.

Every once in a while, we encounter a DVD that is unrippable through Handbrake. In those situations, my colleague will use a different way of encoding the disk: We will loop the content back through a DVD player and save/encode it in real time on an SD card. The drawback with this approach is that it takes much longer because it rips the movie as it plays.

This semester, a student had a great idea about a project related to Night at the Museum (2006). She tried to rip it several times with Handbrake, and it would consistently stop working at the 54-minute mark. I tried to rip the disk on my Macintosh, but encountered the same problem. The student bought another version of the DVD in widescreen format, and the same thing happened. It stopped again after 54 minutes, at the end of the 11th chapter. Of course we tried to just rip chapters 12 through the end, but Handbrake would crash altogether.

My colleague just returned from the NAB conference and broke out the usual equipment for a real-time DVD rip. Guess what happened? It stopped again at the same exact point after 54 minutes. He said "I have never seen copy protection that waits an hour before it kicks in."