How to not lose any video quality?

General questions or discussion about HandBrake, Video and/or audio transcoding, trends etc.
Post Reply
Bubbazoom
New User
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 7:21 am

How to not lose any video quality?

Post by Bubbazoom » Wed Aug 16, 2017 7:24 am

I've been ripping my bluray movies with MakeMKV, but due to wanting forced subtitles, I went to use handbrake after I've ripped the movie.

When I use handbrake there is a big quality drop when streaming to my TV. I don't understand the program very well as I'm not great with computers.

I don't care about file size for the time being either. Not every movie needs to be perfect quality, but the big blockbuster movies and CGIish ones I want max quality. I can pass on movies like Bridesmaids but I still want perfect quality.

I've searched on the boards and can't find anything, but again, I don't really know what I'm looking for.

Hope someone can help and can walk me through some stuff.

Thanks! :)

User avatar
BradleyS
Moderator
Posts: 1427
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2007 12:16 pm

Re: How to not lose any video quality?

Post by BradleyS » Wed Aug 16, 2017 9:45 am

The documentation may answer your questions: https://handbrake.fr/docs/en/1.0.0/

Read the Quick Start article first. A more detailed breakdown starts with Opening a video source.

Smithcraft
Veteran User
Posts: 2691
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 8:04 pm

Re: How to not lose any video quality?

Post by Smithcraft » Sat Sep 16, 2017 10:41 am

Or you could use MKVtoolnix to set a subtitle stream to 'Forced' and call it good.

SC

Smithcraft
Veteran User
Posts: 2691
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 8:04 pm

Re: How to not lose any video quality?

Post by Smithcraft » Sat Sep 16, 2017 10:41 am

Or you could use MKVtoolnix to set a subtitle stream to 'Forced' and call it good.

SC

Post Reply