re:settings

General questions or discussion about HandBrake, Video and/or audio transcoding, trends etc.
newvideoguy

re:settings

Post by newvideoguy »

I am basically new to this, I did some searching and some people have said to use handbrake to help with videos in editing software from lagging( which is the whole reason for me trying this). I have no idea what settings to use, the video i saw only mentioned to change the constant quality from 22(which is what its automatically set at) to 30.

with all the settings when i load a video, they match the settings on the video itself...so i am going to go out on a limp and predict to leave everything as it is. here are settings for a video

total bitrate 9017kbps
1920 by 1080
FPS 29.97
video codec h.264(x264)

should i select constant framerate and have 29.97 instead of 30 above , should i have 29 has the constant quality too? I noticed under "optimise video" there is a encoder preset. would it be recommended for me to set that to "very slow"?

also under quality there is avg bitrate, if i wanted to select that option would put the total bitrate number in there so example above 9017?

I am really sorry for all the questions but i just want to be sure since well like i said before i am very new to all of this. I hope someone can write back with the simplest answers as possible....dont use big fancy words...what i am asking just needs simple answers
rollin_eng
Veteran User

Re: re:settings

Post by rollin_eng »

Could you please post your logs, instructions can be found here:

viewtopic.php?f=6&t=31236
Ritsuka
HandBrake Team

Post by Ritsuka »

What do you mean by "lagging"? Is your computer too slow to playback the captured video or another issue? Many editing apps let you convert the video to a "proxy" format so editing is faster.
newvideoguy

Post by newvideoguy »