HandBrake 1.0.2 Discussion Thread

General questions or discussion about HandBrake, Video and/or audio transcoding, trends etc.
Post Reply
User avatar
HandBrake
Moderator
Posts: 112
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2008 10:40 pm

HandBrake 1.0.2 Discussion Thread

Post by HandBrake » Sun Jan 22, 2017 5:42 pm

Discuss the 1.0.2 Bug Fix Release here.

Release Announcement and Notes

If you happen to discover any reproducible bugs or issues, please tell us about them on our bugs forum or GitHub issue tracker. You can also get in touch on our IRC support channel.

mduell
Veteran User
Posts: 6446
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 8:54 pm

Re: HandBrake 1.0.2 Discussion Thread

Post by mduell » Sun Jan 22, 2017 5:56 pm

It's noon-o'clock and the AAC encoder still blows.

piratemc74
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2017 12:50 pm

eyeTV auto naming issue still not fixed

Post by piratemc74 » Sat Jan 28, 2017 1:00 pm

I installed 1.0.2 when prompted, yet the auto naming issue with an eyeTV source file still does not pick up the name of the bundle, like it did pre-v1.

I also downloaded the nightly build, and got same result.

Thanks for addressing this issue. I'm assuming you don't need any logs, as you've already been working on this issue.

User avatar
Rodeo
HandBrake Team
Posts: 12066
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 8:55 pm

Re: HandBrake 1.0.2 Discussion Thread

Post by Rodeo » Sat Jan 28, 2017 5:13 pm

Yes, we need logs please.

JWS
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue May 27, 2014 2:32 pm

Re: HandBrake 1.0.2 Discussion Thread

Post by JWS » Sat Feb 04, 2017 2:21 am

Is multi-pass encoding a thing of the past?
Could not find it in the options.

Woodstock
Veteran User
Posts: 3015
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2013 6:39 am

Re: HandBrake 1.0.2 Discussion Thread

Post by Woodstock » Sat Feb 04, 2017 4:07 am

Multi-pass is only needed if you set a target average bit rate (Video tab, right side), in which case the two controls become active.

Constant Quality is a one-pass process.

JWS
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue May 27, 2014 2:32 pm

Re: HandBrake 1.0.2 Discussion Thread

Post by JWS » Tue Feb 07, 2017 2:30 pm

Curious... Are the custom presets deleted during the upgrade?
I had spent week fine-tuning my settings to my environment, and now they appear to be gone.

gquiring
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 3:11 am

Re: HandBrake 1.0.2 Discussion Thread

Post by gquiring » Sat Feb 18, 2017 1:01 pm

I gave up today. Went back to .99. I batch files, come back and found it bombs every time. And the 1.02 is much slower.

User avatar
s55
HandBrake Team
Posts: 9393
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2006 1:05 pm

Re: HandBrake 1.0.2 Discussion Thread

Post by s55 » Sat Feb 18, 2017 1:08 pm

Saying it "doesn't" work, doesn't help anyone to fix any problems that may exist. Please raise a bug in the bugs forum or github issue tracker.

Also, if you use the *same* settings, it's not slower. The default settings changed to favour quality/filesize more over speed. If you want after encodes, you can always compromise quality/filesize to do the same as 0.9.9 did. The general rule for encoding is Speed, Quality, Filesize. Pick 2. You need to find the balance that works for you. The encode speed range is from 0.01fps to 2000fps+ fps

scottyo
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jun 09, 2013 5:20 am

Re: eyeTV auto naming issue still not fixed

Post by scottyo » Sun Jul 09, 2017 7:50 am

piratemc74 wrote:
Sat Jan 28, 2017 1:00 pm
I installed 1.0.2 when prompted, yet the auto naming issue with an eyeTV source file still does not pick up the name of the bundle, like it did pre-v1.

I also downloaded the nightly build, and got same result.

Thanks for addressing this issue. I'm assuming you don't need any logs, as you've already been working on this issue.
I would like to support this request. Perhaps another draggable item in the name formatter list: "bundle name"?

It really helps with eyetv bundles and I transcode a lot of them.

Post Reply